Dennis completes Pau Pole hat trick

British driver Jake Dennis took pole position for races two and three of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship event at Pau to add to his earlier race one pole.

The Prema Powerteam driver set a best time of 1m10.253s in Group B of qualifying, which was enough to see him take top spot, with Group A pacesetter Charles Leclerc once again relegated to second place on the grid for Van Amersfoort Racing.

Maximilian Günther will start third on the grid for race two for Mücke Motorsport ahead of Antonio Giovinazzi of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, with row three filled by Markus Pommer of Team Motopark and Arjun Maini of Van Amersfoort Racing.

Alessio Lorandi will start seventh in the third of the Van Amersfoort Racing machines, alongside Signature’s Alexander Albon, while the second Signature of Dorian Boccolacci, who competed at this track a year ago during his French F4 campaign, will start ninth alongside Felix Rosenqvist.

Dennis’ second best lap time in the session of 1m10.276s was enough to see him complete a pole hat trick this weekend, with Giovinazzi this time joining him on the front row, while row two will see Günther and Leclerc line-up side by side.

Pommer and Albon will start fifth and sixth, with Lorandi and Maini making it an all-Van Amersfoort Racing row four. Boccolacci will start ninth again, with Lance Stroll completing the top ten for Prema Powerteam.

Pietro Fittipaldi caused an early red flag during his session and was unfortunately unable to qualify his Fortec Motorsports machine for either race, and he will be joined on the sidelines by Motopark’s Mahaveer Raghunathan, who was slowest in Group A, meaning the young Indian driver will not compete in any of the three races this weekend.

Pau Race 2 Combined Qualifying Result

12Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m10.253s
27Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m10.386s
328Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m10.613s
43Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m10.659s
534Markus PommerGERMotopark1m10.798s
629Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m10.927s
78Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m10.999s
821Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m11.084s
920Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m11.079s
101Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m11.091s
1136Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m11.095s
1225Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m11.133s
1310George RussellGBRCarlin1m11.162s
145Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m11.284s
1524Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam1m11.221s
1627Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m11.661s
176Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m11.248s
1835Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport1m11.777s
1930Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m11.277s
2023Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m11.902s
214Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m11.516s
2219Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m11.978s
2322Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m11.557s
2411Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F31m12.281s
2526Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m11.883s
2631Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports1m12.598s
2738Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m12.261s
289Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m12.673s
2918Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing1m12.769s
3017Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m13.255s
3114Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m13.031s
3216Gustav MaljaSWEEuroInternational1m13.706s
DNQ12Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m14.775s
DNQ33Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m14.252s

Pau Race 3 Combined Qualifying Result

12Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m10.276s
23Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m10.736s
328Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m10.854s
47Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m10.750s
534Markus PommerGERMotopark1m10.874s
621Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m11.168s
78Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m11.055s
829Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m11.304s
920Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m11.080s
1025Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m11.593s
116Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m11.274s
121Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m11.844s
1336Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m11.340s
1423Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m11.902s
1510George RussellGBRCarlin1m11.376s
1627Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m11.934s
1730Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m11.495s
185Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m12.243s
194Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m11.618s
2019Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m12.333s
2122Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m11.680s
2235Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport1m12.406s
2324Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam1m11.735s
249Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m12.689s
2526Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m12.011s
2611Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F31m12.793s
2718Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing1m12.988s
2831Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports1m13.107s
2914Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m13.122s
3017Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m13.400s
3138Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m13.269s
3216Gustav MaljaSWEEuroInternational1m14.292s
DNQ12Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m16.205s
DNQ33Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m14.521s