Dennis doubles up with race two win in Pau

Hours after taking his maiden victory in the FIA European Formula 3 Championship, Jake Dennis was able to survive three safety car periods and a red flag to take his second win of the day at Pau.

The Prema Powerteam driver was able to control the race from the front, making an immaculate start and then controlling the restarts following the interruptions perfectly.

Charles Leclerc secured his second podium of the day in second for Van Amersfoort Racing, but was made to work hard for the spot after Maximilian Günther made the better start to slot into second.

Mücke Motorsport driver Günther held firm in second until the restart after the third safety car, to clear Michele Beretta’s stricken sister Mücke car after he was pitched into a spin by Alessio Lorandi, with first Leclerc and then Championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi finding a way past the German driver. Unfortunately in the process of being passed by Giovinazzi, Günther ended up against the barrier at Lycee.

Carnage happened behind, with drivers getting caught up in the incident, resulting in a blocked track and an obvious red flag period, but after a brief clear-up period, it was a five-minute race to the flag.

Dennis, Leclerc and Giovinazzi were able to retain their positions until the flag, with Arjun Maini taking an excellent fourth, and his first points this season, in the second Van Amersfoort Racing entry.

Felix Rosenqvist found a way to finish fifth for Prema Powerteam, making a move on Alexander Albon late in the race, with George Russell also finding a way past the Signature driver in his Carlin.

Markus Pommer and Sam MacLeod took eighth and ninth respectively for Team Motopark, the latter taking his first points of the season, while Lance Stroll took the final point in tenth for Prema Powerteam.

As well as the safety car to clear Beretta’s car and the red flag, the safety car was also required to first remove Matt Solomon’s car from the barriers after the Double R Racing driver crashed on lap two, and the safety car came out again when Julio Moreno pulled to the side of the track with a mechanical issue on his ThreeBond with T-Sport machine.

Pau Race 2 Result

12Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam35m54.103s
27Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+0.662s
33Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+2.736s
429Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+5.468s
51Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam+5.979s
610George RussellGBRCarlin+9.711s
721Alexander AlbonTHASignature+11.023s
834Markus PommerGERMotopark+11.972s
936Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark+15.644s
1025Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+15.927s
115Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport+17.347s
1227Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+17.651s
138Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+18.366s
144Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+19.010s
1530Callum IlottGBRCarlin+19.342s
1631Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports+20.177s
1722Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark+20.923s
1828Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport+21.576s
199Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+22.186s
2023Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+22.689s
2126Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+23.666s
2238Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+25.148s
2318Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing+26.643s
2414Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+27.024s
2516Gustav MaljaSWEEuroInternational+32.958s
2620Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+1 Lap
DNF6Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport25 Laps
DNF24Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam19 Laps
DNF35Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport19 Laps
DNF11Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F319 Laps
DNF17Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport13 Laps
DNF19Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1 Lap
DNQ12Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports
DNQ33Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark