Dominant Rosenqvist victorious in race two at Hockenheim

FIA European Formula 3 Championship veteran Felix Rosenqvist was in sublime form on Saturday as he led from start-to-finish to win race two at Hockenheim.

The Swede, driving for Prema Powerteam, was unstoppable as he led away from pole position to win ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Charles Leclerc by 9.065s and thus become the first two-time winner in 2015.

Leclerc had a relatively quiet race in second, while Antonio Giovinazzi completed the podium places for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, with the Italian having to fight past the Mücke Motorsport machine of Maximilian Günther with just a handful of laps remaining to keep up his record of finishing on the podium in every race this season.

Behind Günther was Callum Ilott of Carlin, with the Red Bull-backed driver having a strong race, giving Giovinazzi a hard time in the opening few laps before holding off Santino Ferrucci of Mücke Motorsport until the flag.

Markus Pommer of Motopark was on course to finish seventh, but slowed significantly on the final lap and falling all the way down to seventeenth, allowing Gustavo Menezes of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin into seventh, with the American driver getting the better of a race-long battle with the Signature entry of Alexander Albon.

George Russell secured his first points of the weekend in ninth place for Carlin, while Prema Powerteam’s Brandon Maisano took the final point in tenth after passing Mikkel Jensen of Mücke Motorsport with a few laps to go.

The other two Prema Powerteam drivers had disappointing starts to the race, with Jake Dennis stalling on the dummy grid and having to start from the pit lane, while Lance Stroll was spun around on the opening lap at the hairpin by Ferrucci, dropping to the back of the field. Both recovered well but the points were well out of reach, with Stroll fourteenth and Dennis fifteenth at the chequered flag.

Hockenheim Race 2 Result

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam34m17.939s
27Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+9.065s
33Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+12.888s
428Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport+16.576s
530Callum IlottGBRCarlin+21.924s
65Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport+23.058s
74Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+31.552s
821Alexander AlbonTHASignature+32.172s
910George RussellGBRCarlin+33.082s
1024Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam+34.679s
1127Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+39.781s
1211Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F3+40.495s
1338Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+41.182s
1425Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+46.975s
152Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam+48.935s
1614Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+52.141s
1733Markus PommerGERMotopark+52.948s
1831Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports+54.623s
1936Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark+54.984s
2012Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+55.319s
219Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+55.816s
2222Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark+58.217s
2318Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing+59.621s
246Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+1m01.124s
2523Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+1m04.807s
2619Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing+1m06.095s
2717Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+1m06.870s
2835Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport+1m09.835s
2932Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports+1m17.488s
308Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+1m27.960s
3134Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark+1 Lap
3220Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+1 Lap
RET26Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin3 Laps
RET29Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing0 Laps
DNS15Nicolas BeerDENEuroInternational0 Laps