Duval, Alguersuari and Chandhok get ten-Place Grid Penalties

by Connor Jackson

Three drivers have been given 10 place grid penalties for changing their RESS System.

Loic Duval (Dragon Racing), Jaime Alguersuari (Virgin Racing) and Karun Chandhok (Mahindra Racing) will all be severely hindered this weekend. This is likely to put an end to their chances to their race before it has even begun. Monaco is famous for being hard to overtake and the new layout could add to the difficulty.

Despite this, Alguersuari proved during practice that the drivers can overtake into the new turn 1. This is likely to make the start very interesting as the drivers try to get into the best position for the first lap and run down into the new hairpin.

The Rechargeable Energy Storage System (RESS) is a system that is designed to propel the car via the electric motor. The three drivers have had to replace the system and are likely to start on the back row.

The Monaco ePrix, continues this weekend with the race starting at 15:00 local time and expected to last almost an hour. It will be the first time the Formula E championship has visited the circuit as they enter the European part of the season. Many drivers in the field have raced at the circuit before, mostly in Formula 1 cars with Jarno Trulli having won the race in 2004. Bruno Senna has previously won in a GP2 car, while Sam Bird is going for a unique treble having won in both GP2 and Formula Renault 3.5 at the track.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More