Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland

Eng takes victory at Lausitzring to go top of championship

2 Mins read

Philipp Eng took a dominant win in the fourth race of the 2015 Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season as the series headed to the Lausitzring.

“That was a tough race. I’m extremely pleased to have scored my first win of the season for my team,” said Eng after the race, which saw a fantastic last lap battle between the Austrian and Michael Ammermüller.

With twelve laps down the 25-year-old looked to have things wrapped up having starting from pole position to lead every lap of the race but Ammermüller had other ideas as he closed in to within 0.3 seconds of Eng.

Unfortunately for the German, the hunter was also being hunted as Nicki Thiim piled on the pressure from third place. This would provide Eng with the chance to take victory by 0.5 seconds.

“Second place is okay,” explained Ammermüller. “Unfortunately it wasn’t possible to overtake. It would have been easier if I hadn’t come under so much pressure from behind.”

Thiim previously took victory in Lausitz in 2011, 2012 and 2013 but would have to settle for the final place on the podium this time. “We had a great three-way fight.” said the Dane. “I enjoyed climbing the podium here again. The season can continue like this” he added.

Alex Riberas took fourth place ahead of Robert Renauer, while previous points leader Jeffrey Schmidt took sixth place. Jaap van Lagen brought his Porsche home in seventh place ahead of Christopher Zöchling.

Porsche Junior Connor de Phillippi managed a hard fought ninth place and is already looking forward to the next race tomorrow. “I started on twelfth and managed to make up some places. I still have fresh tyres for Sunday’s race so I’m curious to see what happens,” said de Phillippi.

Fellow Porsche Junior Matteo Cairoli finished in thirteenth place to secure a points finish. “We still have a few things to tweak on the setup for Sunday’s race. I lost two places at the start today but luckily I managed to make up those two positions in the race. Things are not yet running as I would like.”

Todays result puts Eng in to the lead of the championship on 60 points while Riberas and Schmidt tie for second with 52 points.

2015 Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland – Race 4 top 10:

  1. Philipp Eng (A/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
  2. Michael Ammermüller (D/The Heart of Racing by Lechner)
  3. Nicki Thiim (DK/KÜS Team 75 Bernhard)
  4. Alex Riberas (E/The Heart of Racing by Lechner)
  5. Robert Renauer (D/Herberth Motorsport)
  6. Jeffrey Schmidt (CH/Lechner Racing Middle East)
  7. Jaap van Lagen (NL/Lechner Racing Middle East)
  8. Christopher Zöchling (A/Konrad Motorsport)
  9. Connor de Phillippi (USA/Land-Motorsport)
  10. Mike Halder (D/Aust Motorsport)
2984 posts

About author
Founder and Editor-In-Chief of The Checkered Flag who grew up visiting race circuits around the UK also a freelance motorsport PR officer. Outside of motorsport a lover of music, photography, NBA and NFL.
Related posts
Porsche Carrera Cup DeutschlandPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Ten Voorde back with GP Elite to chase three-peat in Porsche Supercup and Carrera Cup Deutschland

1 Mins read
The champions are back in both Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup and Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland as Larry ten Voorde leads GP Elite six-car entry.
Porsche Carrera Cup DeutschlandPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Ammermüller leads Huber Racing Porsche Supercup and Carrera Cup Deutschland line up

2 Mins read
Four-car line up for Huber Racing is Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup featuring Michael Ammermüller, Morris Schuring, Rudy van Buren and Laurin Heinrich. Two more cars for Carrera Cup with Ariel Levi and Georgi Donchev.
Porsche Carrera Cup DeutschlandPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Loek Hartog joins Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup with Ombra Racing

1 Mins read
2021 Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland Rookie champion Loek Hartog joins the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup field for his first full season in the series.