Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland

Engelhart takes victory at opening race of 2015 Carrera Cup Deutschland

1 Mins read

Christian Engelhart secured victory in the opening race of the 2015 Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland at Hockenheimring.

Starting from pole position, Engelhart lead away the 23-car-strong field and would go unchallenged for the 14 lap dsitance of the race while a fierce battle brewed behind him. “That was a cool race! Everything ran perfectly and I could control the race from start to finish,” said Engelhart.

Alex Riberas started the race from fourth place on the grid and manage to fight his way through to second place in just two laps and would remain their until the chequered flag.

“That was a really great race. I’m so thrilled to start the season like this. Some people had written me off last year because I didn’t get the results,” said Riberas after the race.

On his maiden race British driver Ben Barker would take the final podium position of the race after starting in second place, only losing a position to Riberas before fending off the opposition. “A new race series, a new team and a podium spot straight away. I’m happy with that,” stated Barker

Connor de Phillippi would finish the highest place Porsche Junior of the race as he finished ninth place after running as high as fifth place early on in the race before a collision with Michael Ammermüller dropped him down to twelfth place. “Unfortunately, the race didn’t go as planned. The contact with Ammermüller was really bad luck. Now I’m hoping for a better run on Sunday,” said de Phillippi

Fellow Porsche Junior Matteo Cairoli hung on for a top-10 finish after dropping two places from his eighth place start. “Unfortunately I got away badly at the start and then things didn’t go so well. All in all, tenth place is okay for a start,” said Cairoli.

2015 Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland Race 1 result:

  1. Christian Engelhart (D/TECE MRS-Racing)
  2. Alex Riberas (E/The Heart of Racing by Lechner)
  3. Ben Barker (GB/Land-Motorsport)
  4. Jeffrey Schmidt (CH/Lechner Racing Middle East)
  5. Philipp Eng (A/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
  6. Christopher Zöchling (D/Konrad Motorsport)
  7. Robert Renauer (D/Herberth Motorsport)
  8. Philipp Frommenwiler (CH/Konrad Motorsport)
  9. Connor de Phillippi (USA/Land-Motorsport)
  10. Matteo Cairoli (I/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
2875 posts

About author
Founder and Editor-In-Chief of The Checkered Flag who grew up visiting race circuits around the UK also a freelance motorsport PR officer. Outside of motorsport a lover of music, photography, NBA and NFL.
Related posts
Porsche Carrera Cup AsiaPorsche Carrera Cup BeneluxPorsche Carrera Cup DeutschlandPorsche Carrera Cup FrancePorsche Carrera Cup North AmericaPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Porsche unveil stunning new 911 GT3 Cup car

2 Mins read
Since 1990 Porsche have produced nearly 5,000 911 GT3 Cup cars, 2021 sees the latest evolution based on the 992 hit the track.
Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland

Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland finalise 2020 schedule

1 Mins read
Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland kicks off 2020 season with 45-minute race supporting the 24 Hours of Le Mans alongside Porsche Carrera Cup France.
GT World ChallengeNurburgring 24 HoursPorsche Carrera Cup Deutschland

Black Falcon to focus on customer sports programs

1 Mins read
Black Falcon will cease its professional GT3 racing commitments to focus on its customer efforts.