Felix Rosenqvist dominates Monza opener

Felix Rosenqvist led from start to finish to win an entertaining race one of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship round at the Autodromo Nazionale de Monza on Saturday.

The Swedish driver controlled the race from the front, with the Prema Powerteam driver surviving a safety car and a clash with Mücke Motorsport driver Mikkel Jensen to take his third win of the season, although behind Rosenqvist there were many incidents and overtaking manoeuvres.

The safety car was called on the opening lap when Markus Pommer appeared to stall his Motopark machine on the grid and unsighted, Artur Janosz on debut for EuroInternational collided with the German driver. EuroInternational had already seen its second car withdrawn from the event with Facu Regalia dropping out of the seat.

On the restart, Rosenqvist held the lead from Mücke Motorsport’s Santino Ferrucci, while Lance Stroll of Prema Powerteam held onto third ahead of Jensen and Jake Dennis in a third Prema entry.

Jensen found a way past Stroll for third, and then capitalised on a mistake by Ferrucci to move into second, and made one attempt to pass Rosenqvist for the lead that ultimately saw the Danish driver clip the rear of the Swede’s car, ripping a hole in the front wing but not enough to warrant a pit stop to replace it.

Ferrucci would lose third place to Dennis a few laps later, and whilst attempting to retake the position, hit the Briton’s car and broke his suspension, ending what was a very strong race up to that point for the American.

At the chequered flag, the top three were covered by just 1.529s, with fourth placed Antonio Giovinazzi a few seconds further back. The Italian driver managed to climb into the fourth position on the final lap, hitting and passing Stroll at the first chicane, and then passing Charles Leclerc and Raoul Hyman. Van Amersfoort Racing’s Leclerc also got by Team West-Tec F3’s Hyman on the run to the flag, but the young South African secured his first points of the season for sixth place.

Pietro Fittipaldi was an excellent seventh for Fortec Motorsports, two weeks after breaking a bone in his hand in a crash during qualifying in Pau, with the young Brazilian finishing ahead of Carlin’s George Russell and Prema Powerteam’s Brandon Maisano.

Stroll’s last lap clash with Giovinazzi left him outside the points, with the final point going to Van Amersfoort Racing’s Arjun Maini.

The race saw a number of incidents, with Dorian Boccolacci, Sam MacLeod, Kang Ling, Sergio Sette Camara, Matt Solomon, Julio Moreno, Maximilian Günther, Fabian Schiller, Nabil Jeffri and Mahaveer Raghunathan all retiring.

It was particularly bad for the Motopark team, with all five of its drivers being involved in incidents during the race which will leave them extremely busy for race two later in the day.

Monza Race 1 Result

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam36m09.669s
227Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+1.131s
32Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam+1.529s
43Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+5.265s
57Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+5.316s
638Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+5.693s
712Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+6.056s
810George RussellGBRCarlin+6.473s
924Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam+7.492s
1029Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+13.755s
1125Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+15.540s
1226Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+17.412s
134Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+19.691s
1431Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports+24.927s
156Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+25.446s
1614Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+26.480s
179Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+36.637s
188Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+42.686s
1918Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing+46.855s
2030Callum IlottGBRCarlin+48.296s
2121Alexander AlbonTHASignature+1 Lap
RET33Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark14 Laps
RET5Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport12 Laps
RET22Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark11 Laps
RET11Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F310 Laps
RET28Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport4 Laps
RET17Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport4 Laps
RET19Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing3 Laps
RET23Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark3 Laps
RET35Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport3 Laps
RET36Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark2 Laps
RET20Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature2 Laps
RET34Markus PommerGERMotopark1 Lap
RET15Artur JanoszPOLEuroInternational0 Laps
DNS16Facu RegaliaARGEuroInternational