Giovinazzi wins disrupted Hockenheim opener

Antonio Giovinazzi became the fourth winner in four FIA European Formula 3 Championship races in 2015 after getting ahead of pole sitter Felix Rosenqvist at the start and making the most of three safety car interventions at a wet Hockenheim.

The Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver held off the challenge of Rosenqvist of Prema Powerteam, who never let Giovinazzi out of his sights, but safety car interventions to remove the stricken cars of Pietro Fittipaldi on lap four, Nicolas Beer and Tatiana Calderon on lap eight and Raoul Hyman on lap twelve meant the race was heavily disrupted and wasn’t truly allowed to get going.

Charles Leclerc fought of a fast starting Jake Dennis at the start to claim the final podium spot for Van Amersfoort Racing, with Maximilian Günther taking fifth for Mücke Motorsport having lost two places at the start to Leclerc and Dennis.

Lance Stroll was sixth for Prema Powerteam ahead of Team Motopark’s Markus Pommer, while Mikkel Jensen was eighth for Mücke Motorsport.

Brandon Maisano was ninth for Prema Powerteam, with Gustavo Menezes of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin holding off Santino Ferrucci of Mücke Motorsport for the final point in tenth.

The safety cars were deployed to recover Fittipaldi’s Fortec Motorsports car after running into the Sachskurve gravel trap on lap four, while Calderon’s Carlin and Beer’s EuroInternational cars clashed on lap eight at turn two that saw both out on the spot. The incident is under investigation from the stewards, with Beer appearing to be showing signs of being slightly injured following the crash.

The final safety car, which also meant the race finished behind it, was to remove Hyman’s Team West-Tec F3 car from the gravel trap at turn eleven.

Giovinazzi’s victory means he extends his championship lead over Leclerc to eighteen points, while Rosenqvist and Dennis both move ahead of the non-points scoring George Russell, who could only finish twelfth in his Carlin.

Hockenheim Race 1 Result

13Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin35m33.962s
21Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam+0.228s
37Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+0.793s
42Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam+2.419s
528Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport+2.518s
625Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+3.973s
733Markus PommerGERMotopark+5.697s
827Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+6.635s
924Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam+7.616s
104Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+8.769s
115Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport+10.287s
1210George RussellGBRCarlin+10.488s
1330Callum IlottGBRCarlin+10.666s
1421Alexander AlbonTHASignature+12.069s
1514Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+13.633s
1629Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+14.192s
1711Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F3+14.873s
1823Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+18.998s
1931Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports+19.917s
2036Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark+20.763s
2120Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+21.806s
2219Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing+22.681s
2322Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark+23.952s
246Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+24.195s
2534Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark+24.923s
2632Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports+1 Lap
RET38Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F313 Laps
RET35Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport12 Laps
RET26Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin11 Laps
RET15Nicolas BeerDENEuroInternational8 Laps
RET9Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin8 Laps
RET8Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing7 Laps
RET12Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports3 Laps
RET18Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing0 Laps
DNS17Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport0 Laps