Jake Dennis takes maiden victory in race one at Pau

Jake Dennis survived two safety car periods and the pressure from Antonio Giovinazzi and Charles Leclerc to take his maiden FIA European Formula 3 Championship victory in race one at Pau.

The Prema Powerteam driver led from start to finish from pole position, with Jagonya Ayam with Carlin’s Giovinazzi less than a second behind after jumping up to second at the start ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Leclerc.

The top three were in a race of their own, and only two safety car interventions to clear up crashes by Dorian Boccolacci and Michele Beretta reduced the gap to just over seven seconds to fourth placed Maximilian Günther of Mücke Motorsport.

Alexander Albon was fifth for Signature ahead of Alessio Lorandi, who secured his first points of the season in the second Van Amersfoort Racing machine.

Lorandi and fellow rookie Callum Ilott clashed at the hairpin after the second safety car period, and although the Italian was able to continue in his position, Ilott dropped outside the top ten, finishing eleventh.

Mikkel Jensen took seventh for Mücke Motorsport ahead of George Russell of Carlin, while Lance Stroll and Brandon Maisano competed the top ten for Prema Powerteam.

The result sees Giovinazzi, who has yet to finish off the podium in 2015 after seven races, extend his championship lead over Leclerc to eight points, while Felix Rosenqvist, who could only finish thirteenth in race one in the fourth of the Prema Powerteam machines, falls 32 points back.

Pau Race 1 Result

12Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam35m54.103s
23Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+0.680s
37Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+1.196s
428Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport+7.079s
521Alexander AlbonTHASignature+7.613s
68Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+9.833s
727Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+14.113s
810George RussellGBRCarlin+14.695s
925Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+15.122s
1024Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam+16.301s
1130Callum IlottGBRCarlin+18.314s
1229Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+18.654s
131Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam+19.502s
1423Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+22.087s
154Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+23.334s
1638Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+25.821s
179Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+26.092s
1822Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark+29.970s
1914Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+31.549s
2035Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport+32.069s
2131Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports+34.272s
2217Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+38.656s
2334Markus PommerGERMotopark+39.127s
2426Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+39.912s
2519Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing+42.321s
DNF36Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark24 Laps
DNF16Gustav MaljaSWEEuroInternational21 Laps
DNF18Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing17 Laps
DNF6Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport14 Laps
DNF20Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature10 Laps
DNF11Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F35 Laps
DNF5Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport0 Laps
DNS12Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports
DNQ33Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark