Plato Earns Pole Position For Thruxton Race Two

Jason Plato will start Round Eight of the 2015 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship from pole position after setting the fastest lap of the race in the opening encounter at Thruxton.

Plato battled to fourth place in the sixteen lap opening race, but his best lap time of 1m 17.388s has secured him the pole position in his Team BMR Volkswagen CC.

Gordon Shedden might have led a Honda Yuasa Racing one-two in the race, but his ballast-laden Civic Type R will start race two in fourth, with team-mate Matt Neal in ninth after seeing his best time removed due to track limits.

The big winner is Rob Collard, who will start on the front row despite finishing just thirteenth in the race, a spot Jack Goff was set to take in his Triple Eight MG, but he was another to lose a lap time due to track infringements.

Grid Top Ten For Round Eight:

Grid PositionDriverRace 1 Lap TimeRace 1 ResultRace 2 Ballast
1Jason Plato1:17.3884th48kg
2Rob Collard1:17.58613th0kg
3Adam Morgan1:17.7243rd57kg
4Gordon Shedden1:17.7411st75kg
5Andy Priaulx1:17.8555th39kg
6Aron Smith1:18.00121st0kg
7Jeff Smith1:18.03017th0kg
8Josh Cook1:18.0479th15kg
9Matt Neal1:18.0492nd66kg
10Jack Goff1:18.1118th21kg