Stewards end Monza finale following racing standards issues

The third and final race of the FIA Formula 3 European Championship race at the Autodromo Nazionale de Monza was halted and half points awarded for the second time this weekend as stewards put the whole race under investigation due to the driving standards of the drivers.

Much like the first two races of the weekend, there were a number of incidents up and down the field, but as in the previous two races, Prema Powerteam driver Felix Rosenqvist stayed out of trouble and took the victory.

Jake Dennis took second place from Van Amersfoort Racing’s Charles Leclerc to make it a Prema 1-2 for a second time this weekend after passing the Monegasque driver on the restart after the first safety car period.

Antonio Giovinazzi was classified fourth for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin ahead of Brandon Maisano of Prema Powerteam, with Giovinazzi’s team-mate Gustavo Menezes sixth. Carlin’s George Russell was seventh ahead of Mücke Motorsport’s Santino Ferrucci, with Lance Stroll of Prema Powerteam and Maximilian Günther of Mücke Motorsport completing the top ten.

Following an emergency meeting following the conclusion of race two on Saturday after issues with driving standards there, two drivers were excluded from starting race three following issues during the previous race, with Fortec Motorsports driver Matt Rao and Signature driver Dorian Boccolacci the unfortunate drivers. Boccolacci’s absence meant that both Signature drivers missed the race after Alexander Albon withdrew earlier in the weekend with engine issues on his car.

Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver Ryan Tveter was eliminated on the first lap of the race as he struck the back of Team West-Tec F3’s Fabian Schiller, with the safety car being deployed while the young American driver was attended to by medical staff after being winded by the incident.

Other drivers also had problems with staying on track, with the final safety car of the weekend being caused by Mikkel Jensen breaking his suspension in a clash with Stroll, with stewards deciding enough was enough and calling the race.

After the earlier warnings, the stewards are likely to want to talk to all of the drivers before the championship resumes at Spa-Francorchamps in three weeks time.

Monza Race 3 Result

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam19m40.310s
22Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam+1.441s
37Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+2.700s
43Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+3.211s
524Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam+4.184s
64Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+4.745s
710George RussellGBRCarlin+6.211s
85Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport+7.365s
925Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+8.077s
1028Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport+8.966s
1134Markus PommerGERMotopark+9.603s
1212Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+10.749s
1338Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+12.066s
149Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+12.426s
1530Callum IlottGBRCarlin+13.502s
1631Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports+13.949s
1718Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing+14.578s
188Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+14.947s
1915Artur JanoszPOLEuroInternational+16.237s
2019Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing+17.348s
2129Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+18.063s
2222Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark+19.175s
2323Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+20.643s
2417Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+21.894s
2535Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport+22.859s
2633Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark+23.818s
2736Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark+49.121s
RET27Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport6 Laps
RET11Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F34 Laps
RET26Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin0 Laps
DNS6Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport
DNS14Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports
DNS20Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature
DNS21Alexander AlbonTHASignature
DNS16Facu RegaliaARGEuroInternational