Super Rosenqvist secures two more Hockenheim poles

1 Felix Rosenqvist (SWE, Prema Powerteam, Dallara F312 – Mercedes-Benz), FIA Formula 3 European Championship, round 2, Hockenheim (GER) - 30. April - 3. May 2015 *** Local Caption *** Copyright (c) FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

Felix Rosenqvist continued his domination of the Hockenheim weekend of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship as the Prema Powerteam driver took pole position for both races two and three to add to his pole for race one.

The Swedish driver remains unbeaten in qualifying in 2015, and will be the man to beat in the three races that take place over the next three days. His pole positions on Friday were made all the better as they took place on a Hockenheim circuit that was wet and with drizzle falling.

His time of 1m49.630s was enough for him to take pole for race two, which takes place on Saturday, with Charles Leclerc of Van Amersfoort Racing being the top rookie in the field in second, 0.239s adrift of Rosenqvist’s time.

Row two on Saturday will see two more rookie drivers, with Maximilian Günther of Mücke Motorsport alongside the impressive Callum Ilott in the Red Bull-liveried Carlin entry, while championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi will start fifth for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin.

Lance Stroll and Jake Dennis were sixth and seventh fastest for Prema Powerteam, ahead of Alexander Albon of Signature, while the top ten for race two is completed by Team Motopark’s Markus Pommer and Mücke Motorsport’s Santino Ferrucci.

Rosenqvist’s second fastest time during the session of 1m50.396s was enough to see him take pole for race three on Sunday, with Leclerc once again joining him on the front row of the grid.

Günther is again third with Stroll moving up onto the second row ahead of Ilott, while Giovinazzi slips to sixth. Mikkel Jensen will start race three from seventh on the grid for Mücke Motorsport ahead of team-mate Ferrucci, while Pommer starts ninth once more ahead of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin’s Gustavo Menezes.

George Russell’s disappointing weekend continued, with the Carlin driver clashing with Matt Solomon of Double R Racing at the final corner during the session that restricted the Silverstone race winner to two more lowly grid slots. He will start race two from eighteenth and race three from twenty-fifth after qualifying for race one in twentieth.

Hockenheim Race 2 Qualifying Times

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m49.630s
27Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m49.869s
328Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m50.423s
430Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m50.510s
53Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m50.773s
625Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m50.847s
72Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m51.144s
821Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m51.171s
933Markus PommerGERMotopark1m51.362s
105Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m51.408s
114Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m51.435s
1227Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m51.595s
1329Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m52.077s
1426Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m52.092s
1511Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F31m52.240s
1624Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam1m52.324s
178Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m52.509s
1810George RussellGBRCarlin1m52.540s
1938Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m52.705s
209Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m52.789s
2136Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m52.855s
2231Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports1m53.309s
2320Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m53.550s
246Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m53.601s
2523Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m53.620s
2612Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m53.878s
2715Nicolas BeerDENEuroInternational1m54.588s
2814Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m54.710s
2922Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m54.944s
3019Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m55.122s
3135Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport1m55.127s
3218Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing1m55.235s
3332Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m55.436s
3417Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m55.461s
3534Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m56.072s

Hockenheim Race 3 Qualifying Times

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m50.396s
27Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m50.594s
328Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m50.941s
425Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m51.574s
530Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m51.637s
63Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m51.712s
727Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m51.895s
85Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m51.936s
933Markus PommerGERMotopark1m52.180s
104Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m52.189s
112Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m52.201s
1211Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F31m52.329s
1321Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m52.379s
1426Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m52.687s
158Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m52.964s
1638Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m53.109s
1736Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m53.148s
1829Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m53.667s
1924Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam1m53.805s
206Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m53.877s
219Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m54.087s
2231Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports1m54.391s
2314Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m55.027s
2415Nicolas BeerDENEuroInternational1m55.062s
2510George RussellGBRCarlin1m55.100s
2620Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m55.178s
2712Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m55.209s
2832Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m55.535s
2935Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport1m55.768s
3017Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m56.102s
3118Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing1m56.162s
3223Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m56.235s
3322Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m56.292s
3419Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m56.382s
3534Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m57.574s