Albon secures maiden poles at Norisring

Alexander Albon took his maiden European Formula 3 Championship pole positions after leading the way in second qualifying at the Norisring.

The Anglo-Thai driver set the quickest lap of the weekend so far of 48.099s in his Signature machine to take pole for race two, while his second fastest time during the session of 48.227s was enough to see Albon take race three pole as well.

Joining Albon on the front row for both races will be Carlin driver George Russell, who was quickest in Group B of the split qualifying session.

Race 1 pole sitter Charles Leclerc will start third for race two for Van Amersfoort Racing, with the Monegasque driver being joined on row two by Prema Powerteam driver Jake Dennis, while row three sees Antonio Giovinazzi of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin alongside Signature’s Dorian Boccolacci.

Santino Ferrucci was the leading Mücke Motorsport driver this time around for race two, with the young American driver set to start seventh alongside Gustavo Menezes of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, while the fifth row sees Mücke’s Mikkel Jensen and Prema’s Brandon Maisano.

For race three, in which the grid is set by the drivers second fastest times, behind Albon and Russell will be Giovinazzi and Dennis, while Leclerc and Boccolacci once again form row three.

Ferrucci will start seventh alongside Maisano, while Felix Rosenqvist starts ninth for Prema Powerteam after a disappointing qualifying session for the Swede who has been the star of qualifying throughout the season so far. Rosenqvist will start eleventh for race two, and will be joined on the fifth row for race three by Maximilian Günther.

Norisring Race 2 Qualifying Times

121Alexander AlbonTHASignature48.099s
210George RussellGBRCarlin48.353s
37Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing48.295s
42Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam48.372s
53Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin48.302s
620Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature48.384s
75Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport48.353s
84Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin48.491s
927Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport48.412s
1024Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam48.515s
111Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam48.424s
1228Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport48.518s
1323Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark48.482s
148Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing48.556s
1525Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam48.540s
1630Callum IlottGBRCarlin48.559s
1729Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing48.547s
1834Markus PommerGERMotopark48.581s
199Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin48.645s
2038Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F348.671s
2111Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F348.786s
2226Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin48.681s
2319Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing48.791s
2422Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark48.782s
2535Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport48.807s
266Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport48.909s
2714Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports49.114s
2836Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark48.919s
2917Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport49.148s
3012Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports48.940s
3133Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark49.474s
3218Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing49.352s

Norisring Race 3 Qualifying Times

121Alexander AlbonTHASignature48.227s
210George RussellGBRCarlin48.408s
33Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin48.305s
42Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam48.493s
57Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing48.336s
620Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature48.521s
75Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport48.368s
824Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam48.536s
91Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam48.478s
1028Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport48.543s
1127Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport48.494s
124Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin48.550s
1323Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark48.499s
1434Markus PommerGERMotopark48.592s
1529Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing48.630s
1630Callum IlottGBRCarlin48.623s
1725Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam48.636s
188Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing48.649s
199Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin48.683s
2026Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin48.788s
2111Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F348.834s
2238Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F348.828s
2319Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing48.927s
2422Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark48.875s
2535Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport48.972s
2636Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark48.946s
2714Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports49.118s
2812Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports48.994s
2917Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport49.184s
306Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport49.043s
3133Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark49.651s
3218Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing49.447s