European Formula 3

Another pole for Super Swede Rosenqvist

1 Mins read

Felix Rosenqvist continued his strong season by taking pole position for race one at Spa-Francorchamps in a session that started on a damp track, although the Swede was lucky a rain shower early in the session did not amount to much as he languished in the bottom half of the times.

The Swedish driver set a time of 2m10.173s to take his eighth pole position of the season, and will be joined on the front row of the grid at the Belgian track by his Prema Powerteam team-mate Jake Dennis.

It was a dominant display by Rosenqvist, who set a time 0.238s faster than Dennis but 0.791s quicker than third placed Antonio Giovinazzi of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin.

Pietro Fittipaldi will start race one from fourth on the grid for Fortec Motorsports, with the Brazilian having his best qualifying performance of the season so far, while Brandon Maisano of Prema Powerteam was fifth fastest.

Charles Leclerc ended the session sixth for Van Amersfoort Racing ahead of Alexander Albon of Signature, while Santino Ferrucci was the leading Mücke Motorsport entry in eighth, a year on from making his European Formula 3 debut at the same circuit.

Callum Ilott was ninth for Carlin, while Markus Pommer completed the top ten for Motopark, just ahead of George Russell’s Carlin and Mikkel Jensen of Mücke Motorsport.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 1 Qualifying Times

[table id=381 /]

12944 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World ChallengePorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.