Dennis wins crash-strewn race two at Spa

by Paul Hensby

Jake Dennis took his third victory of the 2015 European Formula 3 Championship season after taking advantage of an incident that took out the three drivers ahead of him who were fighting for the lead.

Racing Steps Foundation-backed Prema Powerteam driver Dennis was running fourth when his team-mate Lance Stroll caused an incident that eliminated the Ferrari protégé driver along with fellow Prema driver Felix Rosenqvist and pole sitter Mikkel Jensen of Mücke Motorsport.

Stroll chopped across Jensen whilst running side-by-side down the Kemmel Straight, with the Dane being pushed into Rosenqvist who was alongside Jensen, with the Swede being launched into a scary looking crash along the barriers. All three drivers were out on the spot, and necessitated the use of the safety car.

Dennis inherited the lead as a result of the crash, and controlled the race until the chequered flag, with the race ending behind the safety car after another scary-looking incident down the field when Gustavo Menezes hit Brandon Maisano, sending the American driver into a backwards flip, landing upside down. Luckily the Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver was able to get out of the car unaided when it had been righted by the marshals.

Santino Ferrucci took his maiden series podium in second position for Mücke Motorsport ahead of Sergio Sette Camara, who not only secured his first points for Motopark but did so on the podium.

Maisano survived the incident with Menezes to take fourth for Prema Powerteam ahead of Dorian Boccolacci, who took his first points of the year in fifth for Signature.

Championship leader Charles Leclerc took advantage of the carnage ahead of him to secure sixth for Van Amersfoort Racing ahead of Mücke Motorsport’s Maximilian Günther, while Raoul Hyman finished eighth for Team West-Tec F3 despite starting down in twenty-fourth position.

Antonio Giovinazzi, who was handed a three-place grid penalty before the race for his part in the clash between himself and Rosenqvist towards the end of race one, took ninth position for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, with Alessio Lorandi taking his second tenth position of the day for Van Amersfoort Racing.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Result

12Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam36m05.200s
25Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport+0.711s
323Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+1.056s
424Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam+1.853s
520Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+2.393s
67Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+3.397s
728Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport+3.849s
838Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+4.250s
93Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+4.786s
108Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+5.340s
1130Callum IlottGBRCarlin+6.127s
1226Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+7.043s
1310George RussellGBRCarlin+8.163s
1414Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+9.226s
1511Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F3+11.086s
1621Alexander AlbonTHASignature+11.651s
1722Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark+13.973s
1836Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark+14.240s
1919Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing+16.170s
2031Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports+16.407s
2112Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+17.733s
2218Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing+18.582s
2329Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+20.145s
246Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+21.649s
259Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+23.269s
2617Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+25.487s
2733Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark+27.202s
2834Markus PommerGERMotopark+29.397s
RET4Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with CarlinRetired
RET25Lance StrollCANPrema PowerteamRetired
RET27Mikkel JensenDENMucke MotorsportRetired
RET1Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema PowerteamRetired
RET35Kang LingCHNMucke MotorsportRetired

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More