Giovinazzi dominates final race at the Norisring

by Paul Hensby

Antonio Giovinazzi made a great start from third on the grid to lead into the first corner, and controlled race three at the Norisring from the front to win for the third time in 2015.

The Italian Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver had to survive three safety car periods during the race, but was able to win by 1.340s from Carlin driver George Russell.

Pole sitter Alexander Albon completed the podium for Signature, but lost his advantage at the start, dropping down initially to fifth before moving past Jake Dennis and Charles Leclerc to return to the top three, although he was unable to get close enough to Russell ahead of him to move into second.

Leclerc finished fourth for Van Amersfoort Racing, ahead of Mücke Motorsport duo Mikkel Jensen and Santino Ferrucci, who swapped places a few laps from the end of the race, while Callum Ilott took advantage of a battle between the Mücke boys and Dorian Boccolacci to take seventh.

Behind Boccolacci was Alessio Lorandi of Van Amersfoort Racing, while Brandon Maisano completed the top ten as his Prema Powerteam team-mate Dennis fell down the order to miss out on points despite running second on the road at turn one on the opening lap.

Felix Rosenqvist had another disappointing race, with the championship contender failing to score points after making a slow getaway and only being able to finish in thirteenth.

The first safety car was deployed to clear two cars away from the grid, after Matt Solomon appeared to stall his Double R Racing machine only to see Motopark driver Sam MacLeod rear-end his car, eliminating both.

The second safety car was needed when race two winner at the Norisring Maximilian Günther was eliminated by Gustavo Menezes, while the third and final safety car was required to clear up a class between Motopark driver Nabil Jeffri and Fortec MotorsportsMatt Rao, who was the innocent party in the incident.

Norisring Race 3 Result

13Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin35m31.646s
210George RussellGBRCarlin+1.340s
321Alexander AlbonTHASignature+1.592s
47Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+1.912s
527Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+5.830s
65Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport+8.423s
730Callum IlottGBRCarlin+8.902s
820Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+9.701s
98Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+9.915s
1024Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam+11.223s
112Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam+11.416s
1234Markus PommerGERMotopark+11.749s
131Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam+12.171s
149Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+12.783s
1511Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F3+14.700s
1612Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+15.838s
1729Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+16.153s
1838Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+18.427s
1923Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+19.499s
206Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+19.666s
2126Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+19.896s
2235Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport+20.146s
2317Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+21.450s
2418Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing+25.399s
2533Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark+25.965s
2625Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+1 Lap
RET14Matt RaoGBRFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET22Nabil JeffriMAYMotoparkRetired
RET28Maximilian GuntherGERMucke MotorsportRetired
RET4Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with CarlinRetired
RET19Matt SolomonHKGDouble R RacingRetired
RET36Sam MacLeodGBRMotoparkRetired

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More