Jensen beats the weather for maiden series pole

Mikkel Jensen took his maiden European Formula 3 Championship pole position at Spa-Francorchamps as he made the best of the conditions after rain caused a couple of jumbled up grids for races two and three.

The Mücke Motorsport driver set the best time of the session of 2m13.707s to take his and his team’s first pole of the season, with the Dane beating a trio of Prema Powerteam drivers in the process.

Frenchman Brandon Maisano will line-up in second place, with Canadian Lance Stroll and Swedish driver Felix Rosenqvist filling out row two for Prema.

Sam MacLeod had his best qualifying of the year in fifth for Motopark, ahead of the ever-improving Pietro Fittipaldi of Fortec Motorsports, while the fourth Prema Powerteam entry of Jake Dennis will start seventh alongside Santino Ferrucci of Mücke Motorsport.

Dorian Boccolacci will start ninth for Signature ahead of Sergio Sette Camara of Motopark, with both drivers well placed to secure their first points of the year.

For race three, Dennis will start from the front of the grid with Jensen alongside him on the front row, while Maisano and Markus Pommer of Motopark will start on the second row.

MacLeod and Fittipaldi will again fill out row three, ahead of Rosenqvist and Stroll, with Sette Camara and Callum Ilott of Carlin completing the top ten.

Championship contender Charles Leclerc will start both races from thirteenth on the grid for Van Amersfoort Racing, while current Championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi starts twelfth for race one but eighteenth for race two.

The session was affected by two red flags, with Signature’s Alexander Albon crashing early in the session, while Ilott caused the second stoppage after also crashing.

Tatiana Calderon will start both races from the back of the grid after the Carlin driver was forced to remain in the pits with a mechanical issue for much of the session.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Qualifying Times

127Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport2m13.707s
224Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam2m13.786s
325Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam2m14.072s
41Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam2m14.175s
536Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark2m14.379s
612Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports2m14.482s
72Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam2m14.579s
85Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport2m14.584s
920Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature2m14.666s
1023Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark2m14.756s
1134Markus PommerGERMotopark2m14.881s
123Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m15.061s
137Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing2m15.371s
1430Callum IlottGBRCarlin2m15.495s
154Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m15.660s
1614Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports2m15.954s
1726Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m16.058s
1828Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport2m16.082s
1918Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing2m16.167s
2029Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing2m16.408s
2131Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports2m16.616s
2210George RussellGBRCarlin2m16.770s
238Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing2m17.045s
2417Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport2m17.245s
2519Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing2m17.427s
2638Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F32m18.005s
2711Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F32m19.209s
2833Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark2m19.663s
2935Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport2m19.840s
306Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport2m20.601s
3122Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark2m20.801s
329Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin2m21.020s
3321Alexander AlbonTHASignatureNo Time

Spa-Francorchamps Race 3 Qualifying Times

12Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam2m14.665s
227Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport2m14.677s
324Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam2m14.812s
434Markus PommerGERMotopark2m14.950s
536Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark2m15.061s
612Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports2m15.219s
71Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam2m15.606s
825Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam2m15.607s
923Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark2m15.631s
1030Callum IlottGBRCarlin2m15.644s
114Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m15.705s
1220Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature2m15.799s
137Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing2m16.107s
1429Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing2m16.514s
155Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport2m16.525s
1614Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports2m16.839s
1726Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m17.108s
183Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m17.337s
1917Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport2m17.361s
2031Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports2m17.487s
2118Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing2m17.517s
2228Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport2m17.721s
238Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing2m18.088s
2438Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F32m18.132s
2510George RussellGBRCarlin2m18.337s
266Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport2m20.997s
2711Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F32m21.494s
2833Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark2m21.742s
2919Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing2m21.778s
3022Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark2m21.783s
3135Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport2m21.948s
329Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin3m10.163s
3321Alexander AlbonTHASignatureNo Time