European Formula 3

Rosenqvist leads delayed Spa-Francorchamps practice

1 Mins read

Felix Rosenqvist was fastest during practice at Spa-Francorchamps in a session delayed by ninety minutes due to an on-track strike by the workers at the circuit.

Prema Powerteam driver Rosenqvist, who took a hat trick of wins in the previous round at Monza, topped the hour-long session at the Belgian track, 0.231s faster than current championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin.

Charles Leclerc was third quickest for Van Amersfoort Racing, meaning the top three in the championship were the top three in practice, albeit in a different order, while fourth placed in the championship Jake Dennis was fourth for Prema Powerteam.

Pietro Fittipaldi was fifth fastest for Fortec Motorsports ahead of Motopark’s Sam MacLeod, with a third Prema Powerteam entry of Lance Stroll seventh ahead of Team West-Tec F3’s South African racer Raoul Hyman.

Mikkel Jensen was ninth quickest in the leading Mücke Motorsport entry, while Carlin’s George Russell completed the top ten.

Only thirty-three cars took to the track, with EuroInternational absent having seen Team Principal Antonio Ferrari fail to secure a driver willing to commit to racing in the next three rounds. The team ran Artur Janosz in Monza last time out, but the Polish driver is racing in Austria in the GP3 Series this weekend.

Spa-Francorchamps Free Practice Times

[table id=380 /]

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World ChallengePorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.