Sam Tordoff Takes Oulton Race 3 Victory

The third and final Oulton Park round of the 2015 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship was won by West Surrey Racing‘s Sam Tordoff, whilst pole-sitter Adam Morgan (WIX Racing) was forced to serve a drive-through penalty.

Both Adam Morgan and Sam Tordoff got a good start from the front row, but Morgan’s was too good, and he was awarded a drive-through penalty for a false start. Honda Yuasa Racing driver Matt Neal made his way past Tordoff for second position, before being promoted to 1st when Morgan was penalised.

At Old Hall corner on lap 9, Sam Tordoff took the lead from Matt Neal, after the Honda driver lost speed out of the final corner. Almost a lap later, MG Triple Eight Racing‘s Andrew Jordan also took advantage of a weak Matt Neal, who now moved down to 3rd.

The Team BMR Volkswagens were slightly further back on the reverse grid race, but still showed their pace with Jason Plato eventually finishing the race 5th ahead of teammates Colin Turkington and Aron Smith.

On the final lap, the top three got very close, but Tordoff survived an attempt from Jordan at Island hairpin, and finally finishing the race 0.264 seconds in the lead.

Behind Tordoff was Andrew Jordan. Next to finish were Honda Yuasa Racing teammates Matt Neal and Gordon Shedden. Races 1 and 2 winner Jason Plato finished fifth, ahead of Turkington and Aron Smith. MG 888’s Jack Goff was 8th, ahead of Speedworks Motorsport‘s Tom Ingram and Jeff Smith of Eurotech Racing.

After this race, Plato retains his lead of the championship, which is now three points over Shedden. Matt Neal is five behind his teammate, with 149 points.