Sarrazin takes first pole as rain delays championship contenders

Frenchman Stephane Sarrazin took his first pole position of the season as he led the opening group of the four-part qualifying session that saw the best of the weather conditions at Battersea Park.

Light rain began to fall just prior to the qualifying session, with Venturi driver Sarrazin setting a best time of 1m23.901s, beating Dragon Racing’s Jerome d’Ambrosio by just 0.064s.

Loic Duval took third in the second Dragon Racing machine, setting the quickest time in the second part of qualifying, with Sam Bird joining him on the second row for Virgin Racing.

Bruno Senna will start fifth for Mahindra Racing alongside championship contender Sebastien Buemi of e.dams-Renault, with the Swiss driver getting a massive bonus as the groups containing Nelson Piquet Jr and Lucas di Grassi were affected by heavier rain and a far wetter track.

Audi Sport Abt driver di Grassi was the best of the runners to run in the final two groups, but his time of 1m32.570s was 8.669s back on Sarrazin’s pole time.

Even worse is NEXTEV TCR driver Piquet Jr, who will start a lowly sixteenth after running in the worst of the conditions, with the Brazilian championship leader also having to contend with a red flag when Sakon Yamamoto crashed his Amlin Aguri machine.

Just five points separate Piquet Jr and Buemi heading into the final race of the season, with di Grassi thirteen points back. The race promises to be a thriller, especially if the weather decides it wants to intervene once more.

Battersea Park Race 2 Qualifying Result

130Stephane SarrazinFRAVenturi Formula E Team1m23.901s
27Jerome D'AmbrosioBELDragon Racing Formula E Team1m23.965s
36Loic DuvalFRADragon Racing Formula E Team1m24.107s
42Sam BirdGBRVirgin Racing Formula E Team1m24.241s
521Bruno SennaBRZMahindra Racing Formula E Team1m24.318s
69Sebastien BuemiSWIe.dams Renault Formula E Team1m24.385s
723Nick HeidfeldGERVenturi Formula E Team1m25.494s
877Salvador DuranMEXAmlin Aguri Formula E Team1m25.649s
918Alex FontanaSWITrulli Formula E Team1m25.689s
1010Jarno TrulliITATrulli Formula E Team1m27.093s
1111Lucas di GrassiBRZAudi Sport ABT Formula E Team1m32.570s
1288Oliver TurveyGBRNEXTEV TCR Formula E Team1m33.626s
1328Simona de SilvestroSWIAndretti Autosport Formula E Team1m34.167s
1427Jean-Eric VergneFRAAndretti Autosport Formula E Team1m35.032s
158Nicolas ProstFRAe.dams Renault Formula E Team1m35.111s
1699Nelson Piquet JrBRZNEXTEV TCR Formula E Team1m35.284s
173Fabio LeimerSWIVirgin Racing Formula E Team1m35.543s
1866Daniel AbtGERAudi Sport ABT Formula E Team1m38.473s
195Karun ChandhokINDMahindra Racing Formula E Team1m41.232s
2055Sakon YamamotoJAPAmlin Aguri Formula E TeamNo Time