Vergne tops delayed and shortened second practice

Jean-Eric Vergne topped the second free practice session at Battersea Park on Saturday in a session that was delayed while modifications to the circuit were made to allow drivers to miss the large bump on the exit of turn one.

The corner has been narrowed significantly, and as a result a yellow flag will be permanently stationed there, meaning no overtaking will be allowed, and the race will begin behind the safety car.

Andretti Autosport driver Vergne’s best time of 1m25.351s was 0.325s better than current championship leader Nelson Piquet Jr of NEXTEV TCR, with the top two the only drivers to get below the 1m26s barrier during the twenty-five minute session.

Nicolas Prost was third quickest for e.dams ahead of Jerome d’Ambrosio of Dragon Racing, while Lucas di Grassi, currently second in the championship, was fifth quickest for Audi Sport Abt.

Sebastian Buemi, another driver in with a genuine shot of the title this weekend, was sixth for e.dams, ahead of the second Abt machine of Daniel Abt, with first practice pace setter Stephane Sarrazin eighth for Venturi.

Salvador Duran was ninth quickest for Amlin Aguri, with Nick Heidfeld of Venturi tenth, just ahead of the two Britons in the field, Oliver Turvey ahead of Sam Bird.

Battersea Park Race 1 Free Practice 2 Result

127Jean-Eric VergneFRAAndretti Autosport Formula E Team1m25.351s
299Nelson Piquet JrBRZNEXTEV TCR Formula E Team1m25.676s
38Nicolas ProstFRAe.dams Renault Formula E Team1m26.010s
47Jerome D'AmbrosioBELDragon Racing Formula E Team1m26.299s
511Lucas di GrassiBRZAudi Sport ABT Formula E Team1m26.358s
69Sebastien BuemiSWIe.dams Renault Formula E Team1m26.433s
766Daniel AbtGERAudi Sport ABT Formula E Team1m26.443s
830Stephane SarrazinFRAVenturi Formula E Team1m26.517s
977Salvador DuranMEXAmlin Aguri Formula E Team1m26.658s
1023Nick HeidfeldGERVenturi Formula E Team1m26.891s
1188Oliver TurveyGBRNEXTEV TCR Formula E Team1m27.242s
122Sam BirdGBRVirgin Racing Formula E Team1m27.822s
135Karun ChandhokINDMahindra Racing Formula E Team1m27.945s
1428Simona de SilvestroSWIAndretti Autosport Formula E Team1m28.214s
1510Jarno TrulliITATrulli Formula E Team1m28.390s
1621Bruno SennaBRZMahindra Racing Formula E Team1m28.504s
173Fabio LeimerSWIVirgin Racing Formula E Team1m28.621s
1855Sakon YamamotoJAPAmlin Aguri Formula E Team1m28.734s
1918Alex FontanaSWITrulli Formula E Team1m29.204s
206Loic DuvalFRADragon Racing Formula E Team1m29.825s