Giovinazzi grabs first 2015 pole at Zandvoort

Antonio Giovinazzi took his first pole position of the season as he set the pace in the opening European Formula 3 qualifying session at Zandvoort on Friday.

The Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver set a best time of 1m29.897s to beat free practice pace setter Felix Rosenqvist of Prema Powerteam by just 0.097s, with the top two the only drivers to get beneath the 1m30s barrier.

Markus Pommer was third quickest to Motopark, almost three tenths of the pace of Giovinazzi, but 0.117s faster than the second Prema Powerteam entry of Racing Steps Foundation-backed Jake Dennis.

Current Championship leader Charles Leclerc was fifth quickest for Van Amersfoort Racing ahead of Malaysian driver Nabil Jeffri, who qualified a season-high sixth in a second entry for Motopark.

Lance Stroll will start seventh for Prema Powerteam alongside Alexander Albon of Signature, while the top ten is completed by Carlin driver George Russell and Mücke Motorsport’s Mikkel Jensen, who just beat team-mate and Norisring race winner Maximilian Günther for tenth.

All thirty-four drivers made it onto the track for the session, with Motopark fixing Sam MacLeod’s car following his practice one fire, while Double R Racing repaired the car of Matt Solomon after the Hong Kong driver crashed during FP2.

Zandvoort Race 1 Qualifying Times

13Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m29.897s
21Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m29.994s
334Markus PommerGERMotopark1m30.195s
42Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m30.312s
57Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m30.331s
622Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m30.352s
725Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m30.431s
821Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m30.462s
910George RussellGBRCarlin1m30.473s
1027Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m30.495s
1128Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m30.576s
125Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m30.603s
1330Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m30.709s
1424Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam1m30.754s
1523Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m30.818s
1629Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m30.961s
1726Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m30.988s
1838Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m31.007s
1917Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m31.055s
2020Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m31.057s
214Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m31.108s
2236Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m31.222s
2312Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m31.291s
2419Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m31.401s
258Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m31.470s
266Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m31.485s
279Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m31.580s
2811Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F31m31.590s
2935Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport1m31.689s
3018Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing1m32.148s
3114Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m32.231s
3231Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports1m32.360s
3333Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m32.776s
3432Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m33.353s