Maiden victory for Pommer amid Zandvoort safety cars

Markus Pommer made a storming start and then survived three safety car periods to take his maiden European Formula 3 Championship victory in race three at Zandvoort on Sunday morning.

The German driver made a tremendous getaway to leap ahead of pole sitter Antonio Giovinazzi, and then controlled the race from the front to claim his first victory of the season and his Motopark team’s first win since their return to the premier Formula 3 series.

Giovinazzi was never far away from Pommer, eventually finishing 0.544s behind at the chequered flag, with the Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver assuming the championship lead as a result of his runners-up spot, due mainly to a disappointing weekend for Charles Leclerc.

Felix Rosenqvist completed the podium for Prema Powerteam, and was on the tail of Giovinazzi at the conclusion of the race, but was never in a position to challenge.

Fellow Prema Powerteam drivers Jake Dennis and Lance Stroll finished fourth and fifth, ahead of Carlin’s George Russell, while Sergio Sette Camara secured his second points finish of the weekend in seventh for Motopark.

Alexander Albon took eighth for Signature ahead of Santino Ferrucci of Mücke Motorsport, while Leclerc could only finish tenth for Van Amersfoort Racing, only inheriting the spot with a couple of laps remaining when Ryan Tveter ran through the gravel trap at the Arie Luyendijkbocht corner that leads onto the front straight.

The first safety car was deployed on lap four when Matt Solomon went off in his Double R Racing machine, while on the restart, Mikkel Jensen crashed his Mücke Motorsport machine in a clash with Jagonya Ayam with Carlin’s Gustavo Menezes, resulting in the second appearance of the safety car.

The third safety car also involved Menezes, when the American driver clashing with the second Double R Racing machine of Nicolas Pohler at the kink just after Tarzan corner.

Zandvoort Race 3 Result

134Markus PommerGERMotopark36m04.922s
23Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+0.544s
31Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam+1.213s
42Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam+1.886s
525Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+3.865s
610George RussellGBRCarlin+4.658s
723Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+5.087s
821Alexander AlbonTHASignature+5.605s
95Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport+6.562s
107Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+7.696s
1138Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+8.176s
1228Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport+9.311s
1311Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F3+11.070s
149Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+11.686s
156Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+12.921s
1636Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark+13.063s
1729Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+13.998s
1822Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark+14.690s
198Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+16.244s
2012Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+16.923s
2131Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports+18.194s
2230Callum IlottGBRCarlin+18.715s
2335Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport+19.898s
2417Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+20.212s
2520Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+20.530s
2632Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports+21.277s
2714Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+21.694s
2833Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark+22.647s
2924Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam+23.624s
30/RET26Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+2 Laps
RET18Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R RacingRetired
RET4Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with CarlinRetired
RET27Mikkel JensenDENMucke MotorsportRetired
RET19Matt SolomonHKGDouble R RacingRetired