Rosenqvist, Giovinazzi share Red Bull Ring poles

Felix Rosenqvist took his second pole position of the day by setting the best time during second qualifying at the Red Bull Ring on Friday, but Antonio Giovinazzi denied the Swede a hat trick by taking pole for race three.

Prema Powerteam’s Rosenqvist set a best time of 1m24.395s to beat Jagonya Ayam with Carlin’s Giovinazzi by 0.234s for the race two pole, while the two switch places for race three where a driver’s second fastest time in the session sets the grid.

Lance Stroll will start race two for Prema Powerteam, with Sergio Sette Camara fourth for Motopark after another excellent session for the Brazilian, while his team-mate Markus Pommer was fifth ahead of Charles Leclerc of Van Amersfoort Racing.

George Russell was seventh for Carlin ahead of Alexander Albon of Signature, while the top ten for race two was completed by Mücke Motorsport driver Mikkel Jensen and Prema Powerteam’s Jake Dennis.

Behind Giovinazzi and Rosenqvist on the grid for race three, Sette Camara and Pommer line-up side by side in third and fourth, while Stroll and Leclerc share row three.

Dennis and Albon will start seventh and eighth, with Carlin duo Russell and Callum Ilott completing the top ten.

The session was affected by a brief red flag when Julio Moreno spun his ThreeBond with T-Sport machine, with the Ecuadorian ending at the back of the grid as a result, while Jagonya Ayam with Carlin’s Ryan Tveter was again missing following the tub damage incurred in his morning practice crash.

Red Bull Ring Race 2 Qualifying Times

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m24.395s
23Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m24.629s
325Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m24.663s
423Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m24.884s
534Markus PommerGERMotopark1m24.907s
67Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m24.939s
710George RussellGBRCarlin1m24.956s
821Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m25.026s
927Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m25.032s
102Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m25.072s
115Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m25.083s
1238Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m25.138s
1324Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam1m25.158s
1430Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m25.179s
154Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m25.217s
1628Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m25.447s
1736Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m25.469s
1820Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m25.569s
199Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m25.588s
206Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m25.703s
218Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m25.794s
2229Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m25.826s
2322Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m25.890s
2412Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m25.986s
2531Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports1m25.988s
2635Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport1m26.087s
2719Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m26.181s
2811Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F31m26.432s
2914Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m26.529s
3018Matheus LeistBRZDouble R Racing1m26.762s
3132Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m27.113s
3233Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m27.360s
3317Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m30.462s
3426Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with CarlinNo Time

Red Bull Ring Race 3 Qualifying Times

13Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m24.725s
21Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m24.766s
323Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m24.942s
434Markus PommerGERMotopark1m24.999s
525Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m25.055s
67Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m25.090s
72Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m25.114s
821Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m25.159s
910George RussellGBRCarlin1m25.177s
1030Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m25.183s
115Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m25.225s
124Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m25.230s
1327Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m25.256s
1424Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam1m25.304s
1538Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m25.412s
1636Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m25.590s
179Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m25.629s
1820Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m25.693s
1928Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m25.774s
206Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m25.828s
218Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m25.857s
2222Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m26.059s
2335Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport1m26.088s
2429Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m26.230s
2531Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports1m26.239s
2612Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m26.251s
2719Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m26.408s
2814Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m26.584s
2911Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F31m26.679s
3018Matheus LeistBRZDouble R Racing1m26.915s
3132Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m27.517s
3233Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m28.076s
3317Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m40.268s
3426Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with CarlinNo Time