Rosenqvist leads Zandvoort free practice

Felix Rosenqvist put his previous experience of the Zandvoort circuit to good use by posting the best time in practice for this weekend’s European Formula 3 round in the Netherlands.

The Prema Powerteam driver, who won the Formula 3 Masters event at the circuit twice back in 2011 and 2013, set the best time of 1m30.726s in second practice to beat team-mate Jake Dennis by 0.295s.

Antonio Giovinazzi was third quickest for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, 0.015s behind Dennis, while a third Prema machine of Lance Stroll was fourth.

Charles Leclerc, who was fastest in the first practice session for Van Amersfoort Racing in the teams’ home event, ended fifth overall, just ahead of Carlin’s George Russell, while ThreeBond with T-Sport driver Julio Moreno an impressive seventh, the first time the team has appeared inside the top ten all season long.

Alexander Albon was eighth quickest for Signature, with Arjun Maini of Van Amersfoort Racing ninth and Mikkel Jensen tenth for Mücke Motorsport.

Thirty-four cars took to the track for the sessions, with Fortec Motorsports back to their full quota of four cars with the return of Zhi Cong Li and the signing of Wing Chung Chang to replace the departed Hong Wei Cao.

Sam MacLeod saw his first session ended when his Motopark car caught fire, with the incident also seeing him sitting out the second session, while Matt Solomon crashed during the second session in his Double R Racing machine.

Zandvoort Free Practice Results (Combined)

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m31.698s1m30.726s
22Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m31.661s1m31.021s
33Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m31.748s1m31.036s
425Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m31.324s1m31.066s
57Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m31.251s1m31.080s
610George RussellGBRCarlin1m31.606s1m31.168s
717Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m32.096s1m31.288s
821Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m31.847s1m31.299s
929Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m31.723s1m31.368s
1027Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m31.488s1m31.373s
1122Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m31.486s1m31.376s
1234Markus PommerGERMotopark1m31.414s1m31.452s
1330Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m33.127s1m31.494s
1428Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m31.933s1m31.496s
155Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m31.842s1m31.547s
1638Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m32.284s1m31.619s
1711Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F31m33.564s1m31.705s
1820Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m32.151s1m31.726s
198Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m33.186s1m31.889s
2023Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m31.901s1m32.011s
214Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m32.324s1m31.957s
2224Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam1m32.516s1m32.031s
2312Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m32.732s1m32.096s
2426Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m32.103s1m32.115s
2519Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m32.250s1m32.593s
269Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m32.802s1m32.251s
276Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m32.916s1m32.350s
2836Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m33.163sNo Time
2935Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport1m34.186s1m33.468s
3014Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m34.444s1m33.492s
3118Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing1m33.718s1m33.493s
3233Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m34.144s1m33.515s
3331Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports1m34.485s1m33.871s
3432Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m36.322s1m34.191s