Dennis withstands Rosenqvist pressure to take race one win

Jake Dennis took his fifth victory of the season after taking the lead into the first corner and holding off the race-long pressure from Prema Powerteam team-mate Felix Rosenqvist.

Pole-sitter Rosenqvist could not hold off Dennis into the first corner, but the Swede was never far away from his British team-mate throughout the race, but despite the almost constant pressure could not find a way past. A tiny mistake by Dennis on the penultimate lap almost cost him the win, but he held Rosenqvist off until the chequered flag.

Antonio Giovinazzi completed the podium for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin after getting ahead of Prema Powerteam’s Lance Stroll on the opening lap, and closed the gap down to the leading duo over the last few laps to finish on the tail of Rosenqvist.

Stroll finished fourth ahead of Carlin’s George Russell, while Charles Leclerc could only finish sixth for Van Amersfoort Racing. The Monegasque driver, who sits second in the championship, lost more ground to championship leader Giovinazzi as a result, despite making a good move to pass Alexander Albon of the Signature team for sixth around mid-distance.

Albon took seventh ahead of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin’s Gustavo Menezes, who passed both Sergio Sette Camara of Motopark and Mikkel Jensen of Mücke Motorsport on track and was closing the gap to Albon before the chequered flag forced an end to his charge.

There were good close battles throughout the field, with only Tatiana Calderon being warned for driving standards due to making too many defensive moves on track on her way to thirteenth.

Markus Pommer had an exciting race, with the Motopark driver finishing seventeenth having made a dreadful getaway from ninth placed grid slot at the start, dropping to the rear of the field but making up place after place during the twenty-four lap, safety car-free race.

Red Bull Ring Race 1 Result

12Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam34m20.242s
21Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam+0.668s
33Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+1.180s
425Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+3.139s
510George RussellGBRCarlin+3.999s
67Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+5.298s
721Alexander AlbonTHASignature+7.658s
84Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+9.429s
923Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+15.318s
1027Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+16.244s
1138Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+19.394s
125Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport+21.157s
139Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+23.171s
1422Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark+24.204s
158Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+26.819s
1620Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+27.280s
1734Markus PommerGERMotopark+29.552s
1836Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark+30.979s
1911Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F3+37.319s
2028Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport+37.837s
2129Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+38.013s
226Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+39.094s
2312Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+41.718s
2431Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports+42.763s
2514Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+44.991s
2624Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam+47.100s
2718Matheus LeistBRZDouble R Racing+48.259s
2817Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+48.745s
2935Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport+50.580s
3030Callum IlottGBRCarlin+1m06.313s
3133Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark+1m06.852s
3232Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports+1m07.108s
RET26Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with CarlinRetired
RET19Matt SolomonHKGDouble R RacingRetired