Mahindra Racing Confirms Heidfeld and Senna for 2016

by Daniel Lloyd

Mahindra Racing has announced Nick Heidfeld and Bruno Senna as its two drivers for the 2015-16 Formula E Championship.

Heidfeld will replace India’s Karun Chandhok in one of the two Mahindra M2Electro-powered Spark machines, while McLaren GT works driver Senna retains his status in the line-up.

Heidfeld finished 12th in the drivers’ standings last year driving for Monegasque outfit Venturi Formula E. Last week it was confirmed that 1997 Formula 1 world champion Jacques Villeneuve would partner Stéphane Sarrazin at Venturi for season two, opening up the possibility of a move elsewhere for Heidfeld, who tested the Mahindra car in Spain earlier this year.

Senna, meanwhile, ended the 2014-15 Formula E season 10th in the standings for Mahindra, filing his best result of the year at the London finale with fourth.

Both drivers are currently attending the official pre-season test at the series’ Donington Park base, where several of the other teams are developing their respective independent powertrains.

Reigning series champion Nelson Piquet Jr will test the NEXTEV TCR entry, while Britain’s Oliver Turvey is set to run laps in the sister car. A total of 10 teams are present at Formula E HQ for the official session.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More