Preview: 2015 Mid-Ohio TC

by Jake Kilshaw

This weekend it is the turn of Pirelli World Challenge‘s touring car classes to tackle the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, two weeks after the GT categories.

40 drivers from the series’ TC, TCA and TCB classes will take part in rounds 10, 11 and 12 of the 2015 championship as the season enters the home stretch.

Supporting the NASCAR Xfinity Series, the Pirelli World Challenge cars will tackle the 2.3 mile circuit near Lexington, Ohio this weekend.

Leading the TC class is Adam Poland, in the #33 Eastex Motorsports Mazda MX-5, with 892 points. Whilst he is yet to take a race win this season, his consistency has been key to his success, with the Texan finishing in the top 5 in eight of nine races so far.

Poland’s closest competitor is Ohio-native Corey Fergus, whose #00 Motorsports Promotions Porsche Cayman has propelled him to second place in the championship, 12 points behind the leader. So far, he has won twice, both at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

Ernie Francis Jr. sits third in the standings with 628 points. The Breathless Racing driver will be hoping his Mazda MX-5 can take some wins this weekend to put himself back into the title hunt. He won last time out at Road America.

Meanwhile, Tony Rivera‘s clean sweep at Road America put him into the GTA points lead heading to Mid-Ohio. On 841 points, the #86 Tiburon Motorsport Scion FR-S driver is 12 points ahead of Jason Wolfe. The 2014 champion is looking to take some victories at his home round and a track he has previously been successful at in his #36 Kinetic Motorsports-run Kia Forte Koup.

Finally, TCB is led by Johan Schwartz and the #25 Tech Sport Racing Chevrolet Sonic, with 1070 points. Despite his domination of the category – having won five of nine races so far – his lead is by just one point. The driver behind him is‘s Glenn Nixon, the #58 Honda Fit having taken all three wins at Road America.

In total, there are 16 TC entries and 12 each in TCA and TCB.

The first two races take place on Friday August 14, at 09:30 and 12:15 local time (14:30 and 17:15 UK), whilst race three is at 09:45 (14:45) on Saturday. As per yesterday’s announcement, all races will begin with a rolling start.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More