Preview: 2015 Miller Motorsports Park

by Jake Kilshaw

As the Pirelli World Challenge season finale becomes closer and closer, all seven classes head to Miller Motorsports Park in Tooele, Utah this weekend.

Pirelli World Challenge has raced at Miller Motorsports Park since 2006, and drivers face a long 24-turn, 4.5 mile circuit set in the desert, 35 minutes outside Salt Lake City.

In store for drivers in GT/GTA/GT Cup are two rounds. There are a further two rounds for GTS and three for TC/TCA/TCB, which raced last weekend at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Last time out in the premier class, Ryan Dalziel took both GT wins at Mid-Ohio three weekends ago, with one each for Frank Montecalvo and Bryan Heitkotter in the GTA class. Dalziel may be leading the championship standings, but Olivier Beretta is just 14 points behind.

Henrique Cisneros, who hasn’t won since Detroit, leads the GTA standings but Montecalvo isn’t too far away.

Colin Thompson is currently the leader in GT Cup, and has a lead of more than 500 points over Sloan Urry and Lorenzo Trefethen. Thompson shared the victories with Alec Udell at Mid-Ohio.

The GT/GTA/GT Cup races are scheduled for 12:45 (19:45 UK) on Saturday and 12:00 (19:00 UK) on Sunday.

GTS has a close championship battle at the moment, currently headed by Andrew Aquilante but with Kurt Rezzetano, Dean Martin and others able to take the lead this weekend. Last time, the winners were Michael Cooper and Kris Wilson, who sit fourth and sixth respectively in the standings.

The GTS races are at 15:10 (22:10 UK) on Saturday and 09:45 (16:45 UK) the following day.

The Touring Car classes had three races last weekend at Mid-Ohio. Ernie Francis Jr. and Vesko Kozarov took the TC wins. Jason Wolfe and Toby Grahovec shared the TCA honours whereas Johan Schwartz had a clean sweep in TCB.

Corey Fergus has competition from Adam Poland and Ernie Francis Jr. for the TC championship lead, whilst Jason Wolfe is out front in TCA. Meanwhile, Johan Schwartz leads TCB.

The first Touring Car race is the opening round of the weekend, at 15:40 (22:40 UK) on Friday, with additional rounds on Saturday at 08:30 (15:30 UK) and 16:30 (23:30 UK).

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More