Dennis beats Albon in Portimao opener

Jake Dennis made the most of his pole position to dominate the opening FIA European Formula 3 Championship race at Portimao on Saturday.

The Racing Steps Foundation-backed Prema Powerteam driver led from start-to-finish to take his sixth victory of the season, with Alexander Albon second for Signature and Felix Rosenqvist third for Prema to boost his championship hopes.

A bad start from front row starter Nick Cassidy shuffled up the order behind pole sitter Dennis, with Albon and Rosenqvist moving up into the podium places, while Lance Stroll was forced to settle for fourth after being delayed by his team-mate’s getaway.

Markus Pommer drove an untroubled race to fifth for Motopark ahead of an equally untroubled Charles Leclerc of Van Amersfoort Racing.

Santino Ferrucci drove an impressive race to take seventh, beating Mücke Motorsport team-mate Mikkel Jensen after battling with championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, who could only finish ninth ahead of George Russell of Carlin.

After his bad start, Cassidy dropped to the back of the field, and ultimately retired in a collision with the Carlin of Callum Ilott with a couple of laps remaining.

Portimao Race 1 Result

12Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam34m16.653s
221Alexander AlbonTHASignature+3.688s
31Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam+4.260s
425Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+9.791s
534Markus PommerGERMotopark+12.196s
67Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+12.753s
75Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport+18.381s
827Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+18.971s
93Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+20.584s
1010George RussellGBRCarlin+25.480s
1123Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+26.825s
1212Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+27.532s
1336Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark+28.166s
1428Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport+32.856s
154Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+37.675s
1630Callum IlottGBRCarlin+37.742s
178Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+38.810s
1822Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark+42.001s
1938Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+45.671s
2039Alexander SimsGBRHitech Grand Prix+45.721s
2119Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing+46.839s
2220Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+47.773s
2326Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+53.641s
2431Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports+57.270s
2514Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+1m02.558s
2632Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports+1m04.212s
276Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+1m19.814s
2829Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+1m20.374s
299Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+1m23.366s
3033Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark+1m24.432s
3117Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+1 Lap
32/RET24Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam+2 Laps