Dennis leads Prema 1-2-3 in Portimao qualifying

Jake Dennis led a Prema Powerteam 1-2-3 in qualifying for race one at the Portuguese circuit of Portimao, with series returnee Nick Cassidy joining the British driver on the front row.

Dennis set a best time of 1m42.217s, which saw the Racing Steps Foundation-backed pip New Zealander Cassidy by just 0.061s at the end of the twenty-minute session that determines the grid for the opening race of the weekend.

Lance Stroll continued his improvement with the third quickest time, with the Canadian Ferrari Driver Academy driver finishing 0.111s back from Dennis.

Markus Pommer continued his strong start to the weekend with the fourth fastest time for Motopark, just ahead of Anglo-Thai driver Alexander Albon of Signature, while Charles Leclerc, who sits third in the championship heading into this weekend, was sixth fastest for Van Amersfoort Racing.

Felix Rosenqvist, who is second in the championship, will be disappointed to be down in seventh in the fourth and final Prema Powerteam entry, just ahead of George Russell of Carlin, while championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi was down in ninth for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin ahead of Red Bull-backed Callum Ilott of Carlin.

Qualifying for races two and three take place later today, before the racing starts on Saturday morning with race one, with race two Saturday afternoon and race three on Sunday.

Portimao Race 1 Qualifying Result

12Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m42.217s
224Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m42.278s
325Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m42.328s
434Markus PommerGERMotopark1m42.442s
521Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m42.523s
67Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m42.615s
71Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m42.625s
810George RussellGBRCarlin1m42.672s
93Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m42.684s
1030Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m42.703s
1127Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m42.748s
1223Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m42.762s
135Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m42.765s
1420Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m42.781s
1528Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m42.810s
1639Alexander SimsGBRHitech Grand Prix1m42.845s
1729Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m42.853s
1812Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m42.896s
1926Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m42.962s
2036Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m42.967s
2122Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m42.994s
224Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m43.046s
238Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m43.068s
2438Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m43.085s
2514Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m43.194s
266Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m43.283s
2719Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m43.320s
289Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m43.350s
2917Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m43.507s
3032Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m43.683s
3131Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports1m43.691s
3233Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m44.132s