Jackson Takes Lights-To-Flag Silverstone Race One Win

Mat Jackson added a second win in as many Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship meetings, after leading from pole position to the flag for race one victory at Silverstone.

The Motorbase Performance man kept his pole position advantage on the run up to turn one, leaving a battle behind him as he pulled away to a second victory of the season.

Jackson’s sixth Silverstone victory in BTCC saw him also break the race lap record along the way, claiming the race two pole position in the process besides his comfortable triumph of almost three seconds.

The fight for second was won initially by Andrew Jordan, edging past Sam Tordoff into Becketts as the BMW was boxed out by Gordon Shedden‘s Honda.

Jordan moved ahead of Shedden exiting Copse for the second time around, initially getting away from the 75kg-laden Civic Type-R before the Scot launched an attack later in the 22-lap encounter.

The Triple Eight MG driver held on to second place ahead of Shedden, who extended his championship lead significantly after Jason Plato‘s Team BMR Volkswagen CC suffered a left-front puncture on the penultimate lap of the race.

An impressive fourth spot went the way of Power Maxed Racing and Dave Newsham, his best result of the season since joining the Chevrolet team.

Colin Turkington also gained crucial points on his BMR team-mate Plato with fifth place, the third Volkswagen CC of Aron Smith next up in sixth.

A charging Rob Collard fought his way up to seventh place for West Surrey RacingMatt Neal‘s Honda next up ahead of Tom Ingram while WSR’s Tordoff fell back to 10th after a late struggle – which started after Newsham pushed his way through at Becketts on lap 17.

Jack Goff and Andy Priaulx were among those that headed to the pits and set strong lap times upon rejoining for second and third on the race two grid, Nic Hamilton and Tony Gilham both non-finishers.

Race two gets underway at 14:32, and you can keep up with the action here at www.thecheckeredflag.co.uk, or via Twitter at @tcfBTCC.