Pole shoot-out part of Formula E Qualifying changes

The Qualifying set-up for season two of the FIA Formula E Championship looks set to be altered, with a new five-car shoot-out being introduced to determine pole position.

Drivers will still be placed into four groups of five for the initial stage of qualifying, but the sessions have been reduced to just six minutes, meaning drivers will only have time of an out-lap, a warm up lap at 170kW and then one flying lap at the full 200kW output.

The fastest five drivers will then take to the track again to fight for pole position, with the fifth fastest driver going first, with the four faster drivers then following onto the track once the previous driver starts his quick lap.

The pole position shoot-out will determine the top five places on the grid, with the pole position winner receiving three points towards the championship, with positions 6-20 still being determined by the fastest times during the qualifying groups.

“Pushing the car to the limit and brushing against the walls around a street circuit in qualifying is a real spectacle and one of the highlights of a Formula E event,” said Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag.

“With this new qualifying format it will ensure the battle for pole position will go down to the wire – as the name suggests it’s ‘super’!”