Rosenqvist and Cassidy keep Prema on top in Portimao

Prema Powerteam continued to lead the way on the second and final day of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship test at the Portuguese track of Portimao on Wednesday, with championship contender Felix Rosenqvist and team new boy Nick Cassidy each topping a session.

Rosenqvist’s morning topping time of 1m41.759s was ultimately the quickest of the day, with Cassidy ending the morning in second ahead of George Russell of Carlin and Motopark duo Sergio Sette Camara and Markus Pommer.

Callum Ilott placed his Red Bull-backed Carlin entry into sixth, ahead of championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, while Alexander Sims was eighth as Hitech Grand Prix continued its work ahead of its one-off appearance in the championship this weekend at Portimao before a full-time debut in European Formula 3 next season.

Raoul Hyman in the sole Team West-Tec F3 entry was ninth quickest, while Brazilian Pietro Fittipaldi rounded out the top ten for Fortec Motorsports.

Rosenqvist look set to top the afternoon session as well, setting a best time of 1m42.802s, but his lap time was beaten late in the day by Cassidy, with the New Zealander setting a time of 1m42.671s.

Russell was again third quickest ahead of Pommer, while Mücke Motorsport’s Maximilian Günther was fifth ahead of Ilott, Giovinazzi and Sette Camara, while Jake Dennis of Prema Powerteam and Hyman completed the top ten.

The third genuine championship contender Charles Leclerc of Van Amersfoort Racing was fifteenth in the morning session and eleventh in the afternoon, while day one pace setter Lance Stroll had a much quieter Wednesday in his Prema Powerteam machine, ending sixteenth and nineteenth respectively.

Portimao Test Day 2 Morning Times

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m41.759s
224Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m41.920s
310George RussellGBRCarlin1m41.934s
423Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m41.990s
534Markus PommerGERMotopark1m41.993s
630Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m42.020s
73Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m42.116s
839Alexander SimsGBRHitech Grand Prix1m42.210s
938Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m42.323s
1012Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m42.337s
1121Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m42.358s
1236Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m42.383s
1322Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m42.405s
144Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m42.418s
157Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m42.466s
1625Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m42.508s
178Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m42.598s
189Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m42.638s
1927Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m42.646s
205Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m42.794s
2117Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m42.810s
2228Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m42.830s
2319Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m42.926s
2431Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports1m42.933s
252Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m43.030s
2614Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m43.063s
2726Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m43.097s
286Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m43.327s
2929Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m43.355s
3020Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m43.396s
3132Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m43.569s
3233Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m44.162s

Portimao Test Day 2 Afternoon Times

124Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m42.671s
21Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m42.802s
310George RussellGBRCarlin1m42.838s
434Markus PommerGERMotopark1m42.877s
528Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m43.071s
630Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m43.093s
73Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m43.099s
823Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m43.105s
92Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m43.119s
1038Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m43.168s
117Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m43.195s
124Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m43.219s
1336Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m43.279s
1427Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m43.293s
1512Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m43.312s
1622Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m43.366s
176Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m43.433s
188Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m43.469s
1925Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m43.503s
2021Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m43.510s
2117Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m43.537s
2226Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m43.618s
2331Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports1m43.732s
245Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m43.782s
259Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m43.870s
2619Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m43.926s
2729Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m43.988s
2820Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m44.140s
2914Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m44.158s
3039Alexander SimsGBRHitech Grand Prix1m44.164s
3132Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m44.166s
3233Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m44.315s