Rosenqvist extends championship lead in Prema 1-2-3

Felix Rosenqvist extended his championship lead over Antonio Giovinazzi after leading Prema Powerteam to its second 1-2-3 finish of the weekend, with the team taking eight of the nine podium places on offer.

Rosenqvist, who came into the weekend sitting second in the championship, now holds a 34.5-point advantage over Giovinazzi, who concluded his off-key weekend with an eighth place finish in his Jagonya Ayam with Carlin entry.

Jake Dennis was Rosenqvist’s closest challenger in the final race of the weekend, ending just 1.168s back, while Lance Stroll finished as top rookie in third to lock out the podium for Prema.

George Russell was a distant fourth for Carlin, and had to withstand the late charge from Motopark’s Sergio Sette Camara, with Pietro Fittipaldi also close in sixth for Fortec Motorsports.

Charles Leclerc also lost more ground in the championship battle as he could only finish seventh for Van Amersfoort Racing, ahead of Giovinazzi, who battled hard to pass both Dorian Boccolacci of Signature and Callum Ilott of Carlin, with Ilott dropping back to eleventh as Nick Cassidy secured his first points for Prema in ninth ahead of Boccolacci.

The safety car had to be deployed on the opening lap as Motopark’s Markus Pommer and Mücke Motorsport’s Maximilian Günther collided on track.

Portimao Race 3 Result

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam36m27.922s
22Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam+1.168s
325Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+6.049s
410George RussellGBRCarlin+12.782s
523Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+13.316s
612Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+14.598s
77Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+16.436s
83Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+17.428s
924Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam+19.148s
1020Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+24.243s
1130Callum IlottGBRCarlin+26.031s
1226Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+27.817s
1339Alexander SimsGBRHitech Grand Prix+29.551s
146Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+36.573s
159Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+37.589s
1629Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+38.154s
1717Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+42.139s
1838Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+43.118s
1932Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports+49.663s
2022Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark+57.901s
2114Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+1m07.562s
2219Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing+1m09.569s
2336Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark+1 Lap
RET21Alexander AlbonTHASignatureRetired
RET5Santino FerrucciUSAMucke MotorsportRetired
RET8Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort RacingRetired
RET31Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET4Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with CarlinRetired
RET34Markus PommerGERMotoparkRetired
RET28Maximilian GuntherGERMucke MotorsportRetired
DNS27Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport
DNS33Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark