Rosenqvist takes race two win to assume championship lead

Felix Rosenqvist assumed the championship lead after taking his eight victory of the season in race two at Portimao as Antonio Giovinazzi could only finish eighth.

The Swedish driver survived two safety car periods to claim the win ahead of Prema Powerteam team-mates Jake Dennis and Lance Stroll in a 1-2-3 finish for the Italian team.

The first safety car was to clear the cars of Matt Rao (Fortec Motorsport) and Raoul Hyman (Team West-Tec F3) after a second lap crash left them stranded on track, while the second was caused by Nick Cassidy who crashed on lap twelve while running fourth.

Gustavo Menezes was made to work for his fourth place finish for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, defending his position from Carlin’s George Russell, who had earlier managed to pass Fortec’s Pietro Fittipaldi for fifth.

Charles Leclerc secured seventh for Van Amersfoort Racing ahead of Giovinazzi, while Mücke Motorsport duo Mikkel Jensen and Santino Ferrucci completed the points scorers.

Cassidy was on course to make it a Prema 1-2-3-4 but for his crash, and he now only has one race this weekend to make the most of the strong performance from the team, while Giovinazzi will want to fight back and re-assume his championship challenge, although that will be difficult from starting fourteenth on the grid with Rosenqvist on pole.

Portimao Race 2 Result

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam35m25.500s
22Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam+1.005s
325Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+4.357s
44Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+10.783s
510George RussellGBRCarlin+12.204s
612Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+12.720s
77Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+13.207s
83Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+13.867s
927Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+14.646s
105Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport+15.840s
1134Markus PommerGERMotopark+17.406s
1221Alexander AlbonTHASignature+17.816s
1323Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+19.129s
1428Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport+21.096s
1539Alexander SimsGBRHitech Grand Prix+21.456s
1620Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+25.169s
1736Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark+26.230s
1831Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports+27.437s
1917Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+27.809s
206Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+28.327s
2126Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+28.729s
2232Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports+29.165s
2333Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark+30.418s
2419Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing+30.507s
2529Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+30.826s
26/RET30Callum IlottGBRCarlin+1 Lap
278Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+1 Lap
RET24Nick CassidyNZLPrema PowerteamRetired
RET14Matt RaoGBRFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET38Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3Retired
RET22Nabil JeffriMAYMotoparkRetired
RET9Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlinRetired