Stroll sets the pace on day 1 in Portugal

Lance Stroll ended the first day of the Portimao test with the quickest time in both the morning and afternoon sessions as the FIA European Formula 3 Championship runners prepared themselves for this weekend’s races in Portugal.

The Prema Powerteam driver led the way in the morning with a time of 1m38.484s, 0.014s faster than Motopark driver Markus Pommer, and then set the pace again in the afternoon on a slightly altered track with a time of 1m43.305s.

The track was altered at turn one after drivers were excessively testing the track limits, with the fast turn altered into a tight chicane that saw around five seconds added to the overall lap time.

Van Amersfoort Racing duo Arjun Maini and Alessio Lorandi were third and fourth during the morning session, ahead of Carlin’s Red Bull-backed Briton Callum Ilott, with his team-mate George Russell sixth.

Current Championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi ended the opening session down in eighth for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, just behind his closest rival Felix Rosenqvist of Prema Powerteam, while Mikkel Jensen of Mücke Motorsport and series returnee Nick Cassidy, in at Prema for Brandon Maisano completed the top ten.

Stroll led again in the afternoon, this time ahead of team-mate Rosenqvist, with Pommer again up near the front in third. Jake Dennis was fourth for Prema Powerteam ahead of Giovinazzi, while Van Amersfoort Racing’s Charles Leclerc, currently sitting third in the championship was sixth.

Russell was seventh ahead of Raoul Hyman of Team West-Tec F3, while Julio Moreno was ninth for ThreeBond with T-Sport ahead of Ilott.

Cassidy ended the second session thirteenth, while fellow series returnee Alexander Sims, racing for Hitech Grand Prix as they run a test event as they plan a two-car assault on the European F3 championship in 2016, was thirteenth in the morning and seventeenth in the afternoon.

Thirty-two cars took to the track on Tuesday, but Fabian Schiller was not one of them as he has parted with Team West-Tec F3 following a season of disappointing results, while Kang Ling was also absent from proceedings for Mücke Motorsport.

Nicolas Pohler also remains sidelined following his cycling accident, meaning Double R Racing tested with only the one car for Matt Solomon.

Portimao Test Day 1 Morning Times

125Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m38.484s
234Markus PommerGERMotopark1m38.498s
329Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m38.631s
48Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m38.767s
530Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m38.791s
610George RussellGBRCarlin1m38.933s
71Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m38.934s
83Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m38.958s
927Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m38.981s
1024Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m39.004s
1136Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m39.048s
127Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m39.066s
1339Alexander SimsGBRHitech Grand Prix1m39.119s
1423Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m39.152s
1519Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m39.262s
1628Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m39.305s
1721Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m39.306s
1838Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m39.359s
196Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m39.404s
2012Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m39.412s
212Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m39.454s
2226Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m39.554s
235Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m39.672s
2422Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m39.698s
254Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m39.714s
2617Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m39.848s
279Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m39.939s
2832Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m40.048s
2920Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m40.170s
3031Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports1m40.231s
3114Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m40.273s
3233Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m41.796s

Portimao Test Day 1 Afternoon Times

125Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m43.305s
21Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m43.337s
334Markus PommerGERMotopark1m43.516s
42Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m43.544s
53Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m43.559s
67Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m43.560s
710George RussellGBRCarlin1m43.580s
838Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m43.586s
917Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m43.633s
1030Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m43.644s
1127Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m43.710s
128Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m43.711s
1324Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m43.783s
1428Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m43.831s
1521Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m43.866s
1622Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m43.982s
1739Alexander SimsGBRHitech Grand Prix1m44.013s
1823Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m44.059s
199Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m44.106s
205Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m44.134s
214Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m44.156s
2226Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m44.186s
2312Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m44.319s
2420Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m44.417s
256Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m44.481s
2619Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m44.519s
2729Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m44.541s
2814Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m44.653s
2931Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports1m44.809s
3032Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m44.936s
3133Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m46.480s
3236Sam MacLeodGBRMotoparkNo Time