Formula E

Buemi grabs Beijing ePrix pole as Renault e.dams dominate quali

1 Mins read

Sebastien Buemi secured the first pole position of the FIA Formula E as he set the pace in the first ever Super Pole session in Beijing on Saturday.

The Swiss driver continued the Renault e.dams teams domination of the weekend in China as he beat French team-mate Nicolas Prost by 0.284s, with the team becoming the first ever team to lock out the front row of a Formula E grid.

Nick Heidfeld qualified third for the Mahindra Racing team, but was more than one second behind Buemi in the Super Pole session that saw the top five drivers across the four qualifying sessions set one final quick lap to set the front of the grid.

Lucas di Grassi and Jean-Eric Vergne completed the Super Pole line-up, but both drivers made mistakes on their lap, with Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport’s di Grassi fourth on the grid ahead of DS Virgin Racing’s Vergne.

Stephane Sarrazin missed out on the Super Pole session by just over a tenth of a second but will start sixth for Venturi Racing, while Bruno Senna of Mahindra and Loic Duval of Dragon Racing will start on row four.

Sam Bird of DS Virgin Racing and Jerome d’Ambrosio of Dragon Racing completed the top ten.

Reigning champion Nelson Piquet Jr continued his woeful weekend by qualifying eighteenth and last on the grid in his NEXTEV TCR entry, after appearing to be fighting his car all session long. He was already on the backfoot heading into the session after crashing during morning practice.

Beijing ePrix Qualifying Result

[table id=725 /]

Related posts
Formula E

Sette Camara confirmed at Dragon for season seven

1 Mins read
Sergio Sette Camara gets a full-time drive in Formula E after impressing Dragon in Berlin
Formula E

D’Ambrosio hangs up helmet as he takes up role with Venturi

2 Mins read
Jerome D’Ambrosio announces his retirement from racing at the age of 34
Formula E

Dennis takes second BMW seat

1 Mins read
Jake Dennis will make his debut in Formula E after being chosen to partner Maximillian Günther

Leave a Reply