European Formula 3

Champion Rosenqvist tops Hockenheim free practice

1 Mins read

Felix Rosenqvist was quickest in practice ahead of the final FIA European Formula 3 Championship round of 2015 at Hockenheim.

The Swede, already confirmed as the champion with three races of the season remaining, led the way in his Prema Powerteam entry in the second of the two twenty-minute sessions around a dull and drying Hockenheim circuit.

Rosenqvist set a time of 1m32.241s to take top spot, with team-mate Lance Stroll over four tenths of a second back in second position, while Charles Leclerc ended third for Van Amersfoort Racing.

Jake Dennis was fourth for Prema Powerteam ahead of Mikkel Jensen in the leading Mücke Motorsport entry, while the fourth and final Prema entry of German Maximilian Günther, making his first appearance for the team having earlier in the season racing for Mücke, was sixth.

George Russell was seventh for Carlin ahead of fellow Briton Alexander Sims, who is racing in the championship for only the second time in 2015 for Hitech GP, who are using this as another test event ahead of a full time entry next season having already competing with Sims in Portimao.

Signature driver Alexander Albon and Carlin’s Red Bull-backed Callum Ilott completed the top ten overall on the day, with drivers setting their best time in the second session.

Ilott had been quickest in the first session, but times were considerably slower, with his best time of 1m35.106s well down on the times seen in FP2. Leclerc ended second ahead of Motopark’s Sergio Sette Camara, with Antonio Giovinazzi of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin and Markus Pommer of Motopark completing the top five.

Giovinazzi caused a red flag during the second session when he spun his car at the Sachskurve, finding himself beached in the gravel trap as a result.

There were two additional driver changes ahead of the season finale, with Sam MacLeod and Mahaveer Raghunathan both leaving Motopark, with Thai driver Tanart Sathienthirakul, racing this season in the EuroFormula Open championship with Team West-Tec F3, replacing Raghunathan in the #33 entry.

Hockenheim Free Practice Result (Combined)

[table id=685 /]

Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World ChallengePorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.

Leave a Reply