Rosenqvist survives carnage to take final race victory

Felix Rosenqvist survived four safety car interventions and the race-long attention of Alexander Albon to secure his thirteenth victory of his championship-winning FIA European Formula 3 Championship season at Hockenheim on Sunday.

The Swede jumped into the lead at the start as pole-sitting Prema Powerteam team-mate Jake Dennis gambled on wet weather tyres on a damp track, with Signature driver Albon moving from fifth on the grid into second.

Despite Albon’s best efforts, Rosenqvist maintained his lead until the chequered flag, with the race ending behind the fourth of the safety car appearances following debris on the circuit left by Santino Ferrucci’s broken front wing after the American collided with one of his rivals.

Championship runner-up Antonio Giovinazzi secured the final place on the podium for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin after taking advantage of a small mistake by Hitech Grand Prix’s Alexander Sims to take the position as the Briton attacked Albon for second.

Callum Ilott claimed fifth for Carlin ahead of Prema Powerteam’s Maximilian Günther, while Dennis moved back up to seventh at the chequered flag after making a pit stop to remove his wet weather tyres and switch to dries. This also enabled the Briton to claim third place in the championship ahead of Charles Leclerc, who could only finish twenty-first after also gambling on wet tyres at the start.

Mikkel Jensen secured eighth for Mücke Motorsport despite having the end flap of his front wing damaged early in the race, while team-mate Michele Beretta finally broke into the top ten, finishing ninth.

Tatiana Calderon crossed the line in tenth for Carlin but was handed a post-race penalty for spinning Alessio Lorandi of Van Amersfoort Racing at the Spitzkehre just as the final safety car was brought out, promoting Raoul Hyman into the points for Team West-Tec F3.

The first of the four safety cars was caused by a collision between Nicolas Pohler and Pietro Fittipaldi that left the Fortec Motorsports driver stranded on track, while a clash between George Russell and Matt Rao caused the second.

A collision between Wing Chung Chang and Nabil Jeffri brought the safety car out a third time before Ferrucci’s debris caused the final one.

Hockenheim Race 3 Result

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam35m27.859s
221Alexander AlbonTHASignature+0.511s
33Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+0.862s
439Alexander SimsGBRHitech GP+1.050s
530Callum IlottGBRCarlin+2.019s
624Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam+2.615s
72Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam+2.991s
827Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+4.825s
96Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+5.634s
1038Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3+7.289s
1123Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+8.645s
128Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+9.092s
134Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+10.267s
1419Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing+10.430s
1518Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing+11.549s
1617Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+13.158s
1729Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+14.507s
1814Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+14.812s
1932Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports+16.006s
2031Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec Motorsports+16.678s
217Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+18.371s
2234Markus PommerGERMotopark+20.579s
2320Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+32.361s
249Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+36.667s
RET5Santino FerrucciUSAMucke MotorsportRetired
RET22Nabil JeffriMAYMotoparkRetired
RET40Harald SchelegelmilchLATArtLine EngineeringRetired
RET10George RussellGBRCarlinRetired
RET33Tanart SathienthirakulTHAMotoparkRetired
RET25Lance StrollCANPrema PowerteamRetired
RET41Marvin DienstGERArtLine EngineeringRetired
RET12Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET26Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with CarlinRetired