Stroll leads home Prema clean sweep for maiden win

Lance Stroll led home a Prema Powerteam 1-2-3-4 in race one at Hockenheim to secure his maiden FIA European Formula 3 Championship victory at a chilly Hockenheim on Saturday.

The Canadian Ferrari Driver Academy driver took the lead on the opening lap and survived an early safety car period to lead home team-mates Jake Dennis, Felix Rosenqvist and Maximilian Günther for his first victory since winning the Italian Formula 4 Championship in 2014.

Stroll took the lead from pole-sitter Rosenqvist on the opening lap, with the Swede also dropping back behind Dennis to allow the Briton the best possible opportunity to secure second place in the championship.

Rosenqvist, who secured the championship last time out at the Nurburgring, settled for third but had the pace in hand to be able to challenge those ahead of him had he needed too.

Günther, on his first appearance for Prema Powerteam, dropped down the order at the start from his front row slot, but moved back up to fourth by the end of the first lap.

Alexander Sims drove a strong race for Hitech GP to finish fifth, the first time the team finished inside the top ten as they test ahead of a full time entry in 2016, although the Briton made a small error on the approach to the starting grid, spinning on the exit of the final corner but managing to maintain his grid slot.

Sims had battled hard with Antonio Giovinazzi of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, with the Italian being forced to settle for sixth, with George Russell of Carlin getting the better of Charles Leclerc of Van Amersfoort Racing for seventh.

Markus Pommer finished ninth for Motopark ahead of Santino Ferrucci of Mücke Motorsport, while Alexander Albon secured the final point for Signature despite finishing eleventh with Sims not eligible for points as a guest driver.

Hockenheim Race 1 Result

125Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam35m48.561s
22Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam+0.898s
31Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam+1.674s
424Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam+3.784s
539Alexander SimsGBRHitech GP+6.192s
63Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+7.267s
710George RussellGBRCarlin+9.438s
87Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing+10.072s
934Markus PommerGERMotopark+11.929s
105Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport+15.569s
1121Alexander AlbonTHASignature+16.941s
128Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing+17.842s
1312Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+21.785s
146Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport+25.379s
1530Callum IlottGBRCarlin+25.714s
1626Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+26.276s
1723Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+29.506s
189Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin+34.280s
1927Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+34.992s
204Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin+36.131s
2122Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark+40.108s
2218Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing+50.873s
2314Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports+53.937s
2417Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport+54.876s
2533Tanart SathienthirakulTHAMotopark+55.616s
2619Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing+56.453s
2741Marvin DienstGERArtLine Engineering+1m05.952s
2840Harald SchelegelmilchLATArtLine Engineering+1m14.372s
2929Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing+1m25.093s
3020Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature+2 Laps
RET32Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET38Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F3Retired
RET31Wing Chung ChangCHNFortec MotorsportsRetired