Van Amersfoort Racing switches to Mercedes power for 2016

Van Amersfoort Racing have announced that they will be switching over to Mercedes-Benz power in 2016, ending a long-standing relationship with Volkswagen and with VW engine tuner Spiess, which started back in 1997.

The team’s decision to jump ship to Mercedes leaves Volkswagen with just three teams in the FIA European Formula 3 Championship – Carlin, Motopark and Signature.

Van Amersfoort won 57 races in the past eight years with VW power, with the team having taken Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc to victories in 2014 and 2015 respectively.

“In preparation for the upcoming season, we have been studying the different possibilities with great care and for strategic reasons, we decided to opt for the Mercedes-Benz engine and we are looking forward to a good co-operation with Mercedes-Benz and its motorsport division HWA in the future,” says team principal Frits van Amersfoort.

“At this occasion, we would also like to thank Volkswagen and engine tuner Spiess for the great times and the success we have had together over the years.”

“We can look back on a successful era in the history of our team together with Volkswagen. When it comes to Spiess, our ties go back even further, to our very first year of German F3 in 1997, including our title-winning campaign with Bas Leinders the following season. These will always remain happy memories.

“When you look at what Mercedes-Benz has achieved in F3, and the continued involvement they have at all levels of the sport, one can only be impressed. We are delighted with the opportunities Mercedes-Benz are offering us, and we are keen to start working together in preparation for the 2016 season.”