New BTCC Feeder Series To Be Launched For 2016

A new feeder series for the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship is set to be launched in 2016, with the B-TEC Development Series utilising the current NGTC specification touring car.

The brainchild of Triple Eight team boss Ian Harrison, the championship aims to provide a home for older NGTC cars using the GPRM control parts, following the BTCC’s move to RML components.

The provisional six meetings calendar sees the championship run on BARC club meetings, with trips to Anglesey and Pembrey included, new territory for modern BTCC machinery.

The new series will have no direct link to BTCC organiser TOCA, but series director Alan Gow has given his approval and the inaugural champion is expected to receive a BTCC test.

“There are cars out there that are eligible to compete, and we think we can have up to 12 for the initial season,” Harrison told Autosport.

“We are deliberately running at club meetings to make this a cost effective category. The budgets for the 12 races should be under the £100,000 mark.

“It will be a great way for drivers to get experience of a modern BTCC car, and it will also provide a useful stepping stone for teams, engineers and mechanics too.

“They will have a chance to sample the cars and the level of competition required before maybe stepping up into the main series.”

Provisional 2016 B-TEC Development Series Calendar:

March 27/28 – Brands Hatch Indy
April 23/24 – Croft
May 28/29 – Rockingham
July 16/17 – Donington Park
September 3/4 – Anglesey
October 15/16 – Pembrey