Buemi assumes top spot in second Buenos Aires practice

FIA Formula E Championship leader Sebastien Buemi once again showed the pace his e.DAMS Renault team possesses after comfortable leading the way in second practice in Buenos Aires.

The Swiss driver set a time of 1m08.771s during the second 45-minute session of the weekend, more than half a second clear of a tightly-packed field.

Lucas di Grassi once again was the one to get closest to Buemi, but the Audi Sport Abt driver was 0.539s back in second, while the second e.DAMS driver Nicolas Prost was only 0.001s further back in third.

First session pacesetter Sam Bird confirmed his good pace this weekend by setting the fourth fastest time for DS Virgin Racing, and although team-mate Jean-Eric Vergne finally arrived at the circuit, the Frenchman did not take to the track, although his participation in qualifying looks more likely than it did earlier in the day.

Antonio Felix da Costa placed fifth for Team Aguri, ahead of Dragon Racing’s Jerome d’Ambrosio, with Stephane Sarrazin seventh for Venturi.

Reigning Formula E champion Nelson Piquet Jr was eighth for NEXTEV TCR ahead of debutant Mike Conway, in for his first race for Venturi after Jacques Villeneuve departed the team, while Loic Duval completed the top ten in the second Dragon Racing entry.

Robin Frijns was running near the front early in the session before stopping his Andretti Autosport entry on track at almost the identical place he did during the opening session. The Dutchman would fall just outside the top ten in eleventh by the chequered flag.

Buenos Aires ePrix Free Practice 2 Result

19Sebastien BuemiSWIe.dams Renault Formula E Team1m08.771s
211Lucas di GrassiBRZAudi Sport ABT Formula E Team1m09.310s
38Nicolas ProstFRAe.dams Renault Formula E Team1m09.311s
42Sam BirdGBRVirgin Racing Formula E Team1m09.485s
555Antonio Felix da CostaPORAmlin Aguri Formula E Team1m09.490s
67Jerome D'AmbrosioBELDragon Racing Formula E Team1m09.695s
74Stephane SarrazinFRAVenturi Formula E Team1m09.795s
81Nelson Piquet JrBRZNEXTEV TCR Formula E Team1m10.089s
912Mike ConwayGBRVenturi Formula E Team1m10.262s
106Loic DuvalFRADragon Racing Formula E Team1m10.301s
1127Robin FrijnsNEDAndretti Autosport Formula E Team1m10.303s
1223Nick HeidfeldGERMahindra Racing Formula E Team1m10.490s
1328Simona de SilvestroSWIAndretti Autosport Formula E Team1m10.527s
1488Oliver TurveyGBRNEXTEV TCR Formula E Team1m10.556s
1566Daniel AbtGERAudi Sport ABT Formula E Team1m10.594s
1677Salvador DuranMEXTeam Aguri Formula E Team1m10.595s
1721Bruno SennaBRZMahindra Racing Formula E Team1m10.710s
1825Jean-Eric VergneFRAVirgin Racing Formula E TeamNo Time