Günther sets the pace on Paul Ricard test day

Maximilian Günther set the quickest time of the day during the pre-season test day at Paul Ricard on Thursday, the prelude to the new FIA European Formula 3 Championship season that starts properly on Friday.

Günther set a best time of 1m21.481s during the afternoon session to set the pace, with the Prema Powerteam driver just 0.004s faster than former Mücke Motorsport stable-mate Mikkel Jensen.

Sitting just a further 0.006s back was Lance Stroll, with the Canadian making it two Prema Powerteam drivers inside the top three, while Motopark duo Joel Eriksson and Sergio Sette Camara completed the top five, with both the Swede and the Brazilian within one-tenth of a second of Günther’s pace.

George Russell was sixth fastest overall for Hitech GP ahead of Prema Powerteam’s Nick Cassidy, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Anthoine Hubert eighth.

Prema’s Estonian racer and Italian Formula 4 champion Ralf Aron was ninth, with Motopark’s Niko Kari, himself the reigning SMP F4 champion completing the top ten.

Sette Camara had set the pace during the slower morning session, with his time of 1m22.123s beating Hubert by 0.017s, while Jensen completed the top three.

Ryan Tveter of Carlin was fourth in the morning session ahead of Eriksson, while Van Amersfoort Racing trio Harrison Newey, Pedro Piquet and Callum Ilott were next up ahead of Stroll and Günther.

Paul Ricard Test Morning Session

19Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m22.123s70
221Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m22.140s43
37Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m22.233s60
43Ryan TveterUSACarlin1m22.266s66
522Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m22.386s69
620Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m22.400s58
75Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m22.404s73
86Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m22.477s54
91Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m22.507s36
1017Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m22.553s53
1112George RussellGBRHitech GP1m22.642s55
1224Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m22.675s54
1319Raoul HymanRSACarlin1m22.741s67
142Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m22.773s43
1523Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m22.855s55
1616Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m22.904s59
174Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m22.910s55
1810Niko KariFINMotopark1m23.161s50
1911Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m23.189s38
2015Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m23.256s71
2118Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m23.811s57

Paul Ricard Test Afternoon Session

117Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m21.481s38
27Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m21.485s45
31Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m21.491s51
422Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m21.509s26
59Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m21.564s26
612George RussellGBRHitech GP1m21.649s36
72Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m21.697s38
821Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m21.723s35
916Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m21.761s40
1010Niko KariFINMotopark1m21.817s24
116Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m21.954s29
125Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m21.968s42
1324Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m21.981s39
1419Raoul HymanRSACarlin1m21.991s38
154Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m21.999s43
1620Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m22.098s23
173Ryan TveterUSACarlin1m22.227s40
1823Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m22.241s36
1911Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m22.439s30
2015Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m23.114s25
2118Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m23.317s35