European Formula 3

Barnicoat takes advantage of leaders clash for maiden F3 win

1 Mins read

Ben Barnicoat became the fifth different winner in six races after capitalising on a crash between Maximilian Günther and George Russell to take victory in race three at a wet Hungaroring.

The Racing Steps Foundation driver was in the right position at the right time to assume the lead after his Hitech GP team-mate Russell and Prema Powerteam driver Günther collided on lap five.

The race had begun behind the safety car due to the wet conditions, and once released, Günther assumed the lead from pole position, while Russell moved into second when Sergio Sette Camara spun at the final corner, before moving onto Günther’s tail.

The safety car was deployed due to the incident between the duo, which saw Günther end up in the barriers and Russell in the pits with a broken suspension, but Barnicoat was able to control the race from the front until the chequered flag.

Joel Eriksson secured second place for Motopark, while Lance Stroll ended up third for Prema Powerteam after a good move to pass another Motopark driver Guan Yu Zhou for the podium position.

Zhou was able to keep his recovering team-mate Sette Camara and Callum Ilott of Van Amersfoort Racing behind him in the closing stages, while Pedro Piquet secured his first points of the season in seventh.

Niko Kari displaced Nick Cassidy and Harrison Newey over the closing laps to claim eighth for Motopark, with Prema Powerteam’s Cassidy edging Van Amersfoort Racing’s Newey on the final lap for ninth.

Hungaroring Race 3 Result

[table id=1015 /]

Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World ChallengePorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.

Leave a Reply