Double pole for Günther, Russell loses front row slots

Maximilian Günther dominated the second qualifying session in Paul Ricard as he took both his maiden and second FIA European Formula 3 Championship pole positions on Friday.

The German driver set the best time of the session of a 1m20.881s to take race two pole position, while his second fastest time of 1m20.895s was good enough for race three pole.

Joining the Prema Powerteam driver on the front row for both races should have been George Russell, but he will be forced to start from the back of the grid after his Hitech GP car failed to provide the sufficient amount of fuel at the end of the session.  The Briton had finished just 0.017s back on Gunther for race two, and 0.109s for race three, but will start both races from P21.

Nick Cassidy will therefore start race two from the second spot on the grid, meaning an all-Prema Powerteam front row, with Mücke Motorsport’s sole representative this weekend Mikkel Jensen third, alongside another Prema driver Ralf Aron.

Motopark’s Joel Eriksson will start fifth alongside Callum Ilott, secured sixth for Van Amersfoort Racing, with Hitech GP’s Ben Barnicoat seventh ahead of race one pole sitter Lance Stroll of Prema Powerteam, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Anthoine Hubert and Harrison Newey completing the top ten.

Cassidy will start in second again for race three alongside Günther, with Ilott third ahead of Jensen, Aron, Barnicoat, Stroll, Eriksson, Hubert and Newey.

Paul Ricard Race 2 Qualifying Result

117Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m20.881s10
22Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m20.983s11
37Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m21.035s9
416Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m21.164s10
522Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m21.167s12
66Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m21.177s12
724Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m21.207s11
81Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m21.251s11
921Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m21.436s12
1020Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m21.603s14
119Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m21.623s12
1211Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m21.623s11
1323Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m21.816s12
144Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m21.843s11
1510Niko KariFINMotopark1m21.876s12
1619Raoul HymanRSACarlin1m21.915s14
173Ryan TveterUSACarlin1m22.204s12
1815Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m22.453s13
195Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m22.643s13
2018Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m23.037s12
2112George RussellGBRHitech GPExcluded12

Paul Ricard Race 3 Qualifying Result

117Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m20.895s10
22Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m21.104s11
36Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m21.193s12
47Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m21.236s9
516Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m21.293s10
624Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m21.304s11
71Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m21.400s11
822Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m21.436s12
921Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m21.662s12
1020Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m21.710s14
119Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m21.729s12
1211Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m21.742s11
1323Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m21.879s12
144Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m21.894s11
1519Raoul HymanRSACarlin1m21.957s14
1610Niko KariFINMotopark1m22.046s12
173Ryan TveterUSACarlin1m22.218s12
1815Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m22.637s13
195Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m22.709s13
2018Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m23.191s12
2112George RussellGBRHitech GPExcluded12