Günther beats Aron as Prema take 1-2 finish in Hungary

Maximilian Günther became the first double winner in 2016 as he took victory in race two at the Hungaroring on Saturday ahead of Prema Powerteam team-mate Ralf Aron.

Günther led from start to finish to secure the victory, which also enabled the German to take over at the top of the Drivers’ standings, with Aron finishing 3.676s at the chequered flag.

Motopark’s Guan Yu Zhou completed the podium, his second of the season, with the trio well clear of fourth placed George Russell, who once again struggled with tyre wear on his Hitech GP but unlike in race one was able to bring the car home and in the points.

Russell had to hold off the challenge of Red Bull-backed Sergio Sette Camara, also of Motopark, in the closing laps, but the Briton was able to hold onto the position ahead of the Brazilian.

Alessio Lorandi took his second sixth place finish of the day for Carlin ahead of Mücke Motorsport’s Mikkel Jensen, who made a good start from twelfth on the grid to run seventh, a position he would hold on to until the end despite almost constant pressure from behind.

Jensen would hold off Prema Powerteam’s Lance Stroll for seventh, with Callum Ilott ninth for Van Amersfoort Racing and Ben Barnicoat tenth for Hitech GP also in close contention.

Pre-race championship leader Nick Cassidy lost the championship lead after again suffering high tyre degradation, but not after being spun around at the first corner by Niko Kari.

Hungaroring Race 2 Result

117Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam35m03.935s
216Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam+3.676s
323Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark+4.816s
412George RussellGBRHitech GP+10.451s
59Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark+11.306s
64Alessio LorandiITACarlin+15.175s
77Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport+28.495s
81Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam+29.292s
96Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing+30.002s
1024Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP+30.642s
113Ryan TveterUSACarlin+31.111s
1220Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing+31.675s
1321Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing+34.435s
145Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing+35.720s
1515Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport+59.497s
162Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam+1m10.143s
RET11Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GPRetired
RET22Joel ErikssonSWEMotoparkRetired
RET10Niko KariFINMotoparkRetired
RET18Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlinRetired