Günther takes race one pole as track limits denies Russell

Maximilian Günther secured pole position for the opening race of the Hungaroring weekend of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship after George Russell saw his best time deleted due to exceeding track limits that would have seen the Briton take his maiden series pole.

Many drivers had laps taken away from them due to track limits during the session, with only three drivers – Lance Stroll, Callum Ilott and Niko Kari – not having a lap time deleted due to the offence.

Russell had initially thought he had done enough to take pole, but the Hitech GP was demoted to second post-session behind Prema Powerteam’s Günther, who took his third consecutive pole position of the season as a result of the British driver’s punishment.

Ralf Aron and Stroll will share row two for Prema Powerteam, while Motopark duo Joel Eriksson and Kari will share row three, ahead of championship leader Nick Cassidy in the fourth of the Prema entries.

Motopark’s Sergio Sette Camara, Van Amersfoort Racing’s Ilott and Carlin’s Alessio Lorandi completed the top ten.

Amongst those who lost times due to track limit offences were Motopark’s Guan Yu Zhou and Hitech GP’s Ben Barnicoat, who lost a potential top five placing and will start thirteenth.

Hungaroring Race 1 Qualifying Times

117Maximilian GuntherGERPrema Powerteam1m34.107s
212George RussellGBRHitech GP1m34.187s
316Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam1m34.257s
41Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m34.284s
522Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark1m34.339s
610Niko KariFINMotopark1m34.423s
72Nick CassidyNZLPrema Powerteam1m34.615s
89Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m34.617s
96Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m34.676s
104Alessio LorandiITACarlin1m34.776s
1111Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP1m34.891s
123Ryan TveterUSACarlin1m35.043s
1324Ben BarnicoatGBRHitech GP1m35.118s
1423Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark1m35.223s
157Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m35.401s
1621Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing1m35.432s
175Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing1m35.587s
1818Zhi Cong LiCHNCarlin1m35.856s
1920Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing1m35.894s
2015Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport1m45.003s