Matt Neal Makes It Six Winners From Six With Donington Triumph

1 Mins read

Matt Neal made it six winners from six Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship races in 2016, leading a second one-two finish for Honda in the final race at Donington Park.

From pole position, Sam Tordoff made the perfect getaway as the the lights went out to lead the field into Redgate for the first time, Neal moving up to second spot ahead of another BMW of Jack Goff.

It was soon a West Surrey Racing one-two as Goff squeezed ahead of Neal on lap two heading into the final corner, despite the robust defence of the Honda driver leaving him briefly grass-tracking to do so.

The two soft tyre-shod BMW 125i machines continued to head the way into the second half of the race, with Gordon Shedden in fourth place joining the chase with his Halfords Yuasa Racing team-mate, Neal.

Neal made a decisive late-braking lunge on Goff for second place at Old Hairpin on lap 10, soon followed by the second Honda Civic Type-R of Shedden, which slotted inside the BMW at Redgate a lap later.

With three laps remaining, the lead had changed hands to Honda, Neal rounding Tordoff exiting the Old Hairpin before a second Honda one-two of the season was completed when Shedden dived inside the WSR man at Redgate on the following tour.

Neal moved back into the championship lead with his win, his first of the season to ensure six different winners from the first six races.

Behind the top four, a slow-starting Josh Cook briefly lead a squabble between the day’s previous two winners, Mat Jackson and Rob Collard. The latter lost out to a Jackson lunge at Redgate on lap five, but recovered the spot swiftly and made his way by Cook’s MG on lap 10.

Fourth place was his reward after displacing Goff, the charging Ashley Sutton completing a rise from 13th to fifth for Triple Eight ahead of Goff, Aiden Moffat (Mercedes), Rob Austin (Toyota), Cook and Andrew Jordan (Ford).

Michael Epps completed a fine drive for Team HARD in 13th, finishing ahead of former championship leader, Jackson.

No Team BMR Subarus scored points in the final race of the day, Jason Plato best of the remaining trio of Levorgs in 16th.

Related posts

Ash Sutton regains BTCC Drivers' Championship with rampant race one win at Brands Hatch

2 Mins read
Imperious Ash Sutton took the BTCC Drivers’ title for a fourth time in the first race at Brands Hatch GP finishing off an incredible season.

Turkington tops Silverstone reverse grid race with 150th race win for BMW

2 Mins read
Four-time BTCC champion, Colin Turkington may be all but out of the BTCC Drivers’ Championship hunt, but concluded Silverstone with a milestone…

Sutton seals mind blowing Silverstone win from 23rd on the grid

2 Mins read
Ash Sutton is at it again in a drive that may have just sealed another BTCC Drivers’ Championship for the imperious NAPA…